Logo orange

Michelle McCarthy

Portland, Oregon, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Polish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • Through many people, through many ac...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find a community to be a part of post college life.

ABOUT ME

I am always eager to try new things, go out and explore, and find different things and hobbies to take on. I am pretty easy going, enjoy savoring life, and really cherish being a part of a great community.
I really enjoy riding my bike to the farmer's market, getting to talk to everyone there, bumping into friends, and eating good food. I try to live my life as environmentally conscious as I can, as well as living healthy- I think they go hand in hand. I can't just go exercise for the sake of exercising though, so I like to find new ways to move my body- being outdoors, playing games, dancing, etc.
I really enjoy meeting new people, and am happy to lend a helping hand. I also am up for adventure.
I tend to always be busy, I like being involved in everything, and love planning events, or organizing get togethers. I was the Volunteer Chair for the Environmental Affairs Board at my college, so I spent a lot of time planning trips like going to do restoration out on Anacapa Island, or leading DIY workshops like making lotion.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm new to CS, I'm looking to meet some great people, and hopefully soon have my own couch to offer.

Interests

The things I've done recently outside of work have been starting up an acro yoga class, finding a goat farm to help out with milking and making cheese, biking, hiking, going out country dancing (mostly country two step and swing, i love swing), and a whole lot of habitat restoration. For the past half year I have been working at an afterschool program teaching and hanging out with kids. I most recently taught Eco-Art, Irish Dancing, directed a kid's play, and taught the kids about different bugs and native plants.
I hope to audition for some theater companies, shows, learn to dance more, and try more new things!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Having worked with kids the past six months, getting to see the progress and change in kids with their reading, or with their behavior as a result of changing their environment has amazed me. Their young minds are molded so easily, and the importance of loving and caring for them is so important. It is exciting to see change for the better.

Hiking to the top of the Santa Barbara mountains seeing all of Santa Barbara, the ocean, the islands and greenery still gets me everytime. Most recently I went up and couldn't see anything because we were in a cloud, and that was amazing too. The wind blowing hard on us, pressing the cloud on, and seeing the moisture drops flying past was pretty cool.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you an irish dance, how to make deoderant, lotions, body scrubs etc, how to play ultimate frisbee. I would like to learn a lot of things.

Countries I've Visited

Poland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile