Michelle Elizabeth's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Bachelors degree - Columbia University
  • From Tucson, AZ, USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I am a 24 year old American woman. I grew up in Tucson, AZ but have spent the last 6 years in NYC, where I attended Columbia for my bachelor's degree. Career-wise I am interested in the following: banking, fintech (specifically cryptocurrency & blockchain technology, the future applications it will make possible), psychology/neuroscience. I am at the front-end of this journey, so am naive and growing my interests and knowledge for the time being :) Am currently living in London until January, or possibly longer.

I am very laid back- not a micromanager. I surrender to spontaneity and surprise instead, and enjoy going with the flow most...whatever that brings!

I am joyous and happy although my disposition is quiet, introverted/ambiverted, and thoughtful. SO, there is a chance that I come off as a bitch or as boring upon first meeting me :)but I promise I am not! I am an optimist at heart who has worked to establish the habit of gratitude into my very being...I strive for positive vibes.

My downfall when it comes to traveling, Couchsurfing, and meeting new people is my introversion. I love to read in coffee shops alone, and in general, need some alone time during my day to recharge. Nothing personal, but sometimes I worry it seems that way. Other than that, I am a little awkward and goofy which I am sure bothers some people :) Social skills are there though... surprisingly!

Things I LOVE: yoga, nature and exploring the outdoors in any form, bike rides, family, learning new things, animals (especially dogs!!!), eating/food, healthy cooking/baking, listening to music, reading, film/ movies/tv, meditation and spirituality practice, sports. And of course, meeting new people and building my perspective!

Things I do not love: pop culture, obsessing about appearances, excessive gossip (talking about people and events in a way I wouldn't feel ok saying publicly lol). I make an effort to minimize these as a focus in my life because it is what I find best for my self-development, and overall happiness. No judgment if this is the vibe though, but just a warning that I will just kind of zone out.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people and learning new things from being around others. Not only like-minded people but those from many perspectives and walks of life. I enjoy the authenticity one finds in Couchsurfing! Just as I love using Reddit, Meetup, Bumble and other apps to meet people...Thank you, technology.

Interests

Love trying new things. In many scenarios, I also enjoy challenges or going out of my comfort zone.

  • animals
  • animal welfare
  • yoga
  • walking
  • traveling
  • live music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • history
  • neuroscience
  • psychology
  • sociology
  • nature
  • museum
  • biking
  • disco
  • foodie
  • soul music
  • positive thinking
  • deep house
  • anything outdoors
  • healthy cooking
  • world religions
  • funk music
  • child psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: DONNA SUMMER, Diana Ross, Supremes, MJ/Jackson 5, Earth, Wind & Fire, The Trammps, Bee Gees, Tavares, Kool & the Gang, Barry White, Village People, Marvin Gaye, Leo Sayer, KC & the Sunshine Band, Rick James, The Pointer Sisters, the Four Seasons, Isaac Hayes, Wild Cherry, Isley Brothers, James Brown, Stevie Wonder, Chaka Khan, Commodores, Parliament, ,Avg White Band, Rolling Stones, Beatles, Bob Dylan, Beach Boys, Led Zeppelin, Clapton, The Who, Simon & Garfunkel, Fleetwood Mac/Stevie Nicks, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Bowie, Talking Heads, McCartney,Lennon,Harrison, Pink Floyd, sugarhill gang, madonna, rem, ac/dc.....as far as current artists I like a super random mix...pretty much everything except the mainstream/annoying country, hip hop or pop. I particularly like styles like deep house, dream house (LA), Daft Punk, J cole, Kendrick Lamar, Logic, etc

Movies: Room, Short Term 12, Birdman, Moonlight, Lion, Manchester by the sea (hate affleck though smh), Boyhood, Beasts of the southern wild, Beasts of no nation, Carol,...just some very recent ones I saw that come to mind....Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Punch Drunk Love, Little Miss Sunshine, The Meyerowitz Stories, Star Wars,

Books: Too hard! So many favorites. Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Harry Potter, Crime & Punishment, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Vegeterian, The Glass Castle, Little Bee, The brief wonderous life of of Oscar Wao or really any Junot Diaz, for guilty pleasures: The Revenant was a good read and Gillian Flynn books, Big Little Lies...Sci fi books...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation and I love to listen so I am all ears for you. Enjoy cleaning too (or helping to take care of kids and/or animals too) so would love to help with those kinds of tasks.

When I am settled back in NYC (or wherever in US I end up), I plan on hosting couchsurfers as well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups