Michelle Brear's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Swati
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Writer
  • PhD student in Public Health, Monash University
  • From Armidale, NSW, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

surround myself with people who want to make the world a funkier, fairer, funner place

ABOUT ME

I love people, experiencing new things and learning by sharing other people's spaces. I find the everyday things people do really interesting and especially enjoy doing everyday things with people from different places and cultures.

I am Australian but have lived in Swaziland, Africa's last absolute monarchy, for the past 6 years. I stay in Manzini (with 60,000 people it's the country's biggest town) and do a bit of work as a writer (boring scientific writing). I love creative writing and hope one day to be able live off that, but...

I also work at a preschool in a rural village called Kaphunga doing community development work and having fun with the kids. I've been doing that for the last five years and have just enrolled in a PhD at Monash Uni in Melbourne to do a study of the school and the community development work we do there.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I joined couchsurfing in 2012 and have only had one visitor so far. Hope in the future that I'll have lots of interesting visitors in Swaziland and meet interesting people when I travel.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had some great times with random travellers staying in my lounge, but have only just started internet couch surfing. It gives me inspiration to travel and new ideas.

Interests

In my spare time I enjoy the great outdoors, live music and reading. I like having people visit and entertaining, especially around the fire on cold winter's nights.

  • writing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • statistics

Music, Movies, and Books

Paul Simon, Green Day, Mafikizolo, Pink Floyd, Bob Marley,

American Beauty, Kill Bill, Candy, Frida, Tsotsi

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Poisonwood Bible, Still Life with Woodpecker, Confederacy of Dunces, Angela Davis- An Autobiography

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spending time doing everyday things in townships and rural areas in southern Africa

Teach, Learn, Share

I have this job as a medical writer which introduces me to all sorts of weird 'facts' about the human body (especially the reproductive system), and statistics you'd probably rather not know about...if you're in to that I have a lot to share.

Far more interesting are my real life experiences, travelling and living overseas. If you come to visit me in Swaziland I can share lots of interesting places and people I know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Lesotho, Mozambique, South Africa, Thailand, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Fiji, Swaziland

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!