Michaela Hubmann's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michaela’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Medical Anthropologist & PhD candidate in African Stu...
  • University
  • From Austria, Graz
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

PhD research in Bo district, Sierra Leone. Investigating the post-Ebola primary health system.

To understand different societies from an anthropological perspective.

ABOUT ME

I love to travel around the world and to study different societies, their culture and medical systems.

PHILOSOPHY

Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Whenever I've space, where ever I am, I will host people from all over the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

not yet - but hopefully soon

Interests

travel, anthropology, culture, medical systems

  • culture
  • traveling
  • magic
  • whitewater rafting
  • swimming
  • anthropology

Music, Movies, and Books

movies: taare zameen paar, 3 idiots, slumdog millionaire, ps:i love you, the notebook, presicious, 28 days and 28 weeks later, masterchef

music: counting crows, la vela puerca, the killers, mumford&sons, the travelling band, civil wars, kodaline, passenger

books: The kite runner, a thousand splendid suns, torey hayden´s books, where the river ends, Feuchtgebiete....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Currently conducting my PhD research in Sierra Leone which includes getting stuck in the muddy roads during the rainy season and staying overnight in a rural village. AMAZING!

Conducted my first anthropological research in Ghana

Stayed with an Indian family for two months, whitewater rafting on the Ganga, celebrated Holy with my friends in Bangalore, my first 34 hours journey in an Indian overnight train, went for a swim with locals and their cows in Kerala.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach german (austrian german)and i can share my travel experience

What I Can Share with Hosts

My research experiences

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Ghana, India, Italy, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Ghana, India, Netherlands, Sierra Leone, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Michaela’s full profile. It’s free!