Michael Cohen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Hebrew (modern), Spanish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Photographer, graphic designer, phone salesman
  • Master's degree in English, I also studied graphic design...
  • From Strasbourg, Grand Est, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

a bit of a dreamer, a quiet and prudent person but very talkative and sociable when I feel the persons around me can be trusted and are open minded, curious and willing to exchange thoughts and/or activities. I am an art lover, a photographer, a cinema addict, a music lover, I used to be an actor in an English theatre group, but my greatest passion is traveling when I have the opportunity (which is rare) but I also love to show my own city to others to make them happy and help them discover what no other tourists could see (if you like biking you found the right person) .
I am an experienced Couchsurfing member, host and traveller, even though I haven’t been very active for years. I knew the concept when it was still at the early stage and was completely addict to it. Today I am a devoted father of a 10 year old boy, Ariel, whom I take care of fulltime which is quite a lot of work (his mum living far abroad, I have the main custody) so I have less time to travel as I did, but I want to come back to the couchsurfing spirit, hosting people to share with my son the joys of hospitality and socializing with people from different places (if you have a child the same age as my son, we’d be even more happy to host you) and when it will be possible, travel again. I have to warn you that I’m not a party animal so you’d probably get bored with me if you like to get completely drunk, dancing hours in discos, etc. However I love laughing, sharing long discussions, having drinks or a good meal and I love going OUT (I can’t stand staying inside for too long), for drinks, restaurants, picnics or just walking. BIKING is my favorite activity in my home city or abroad. I have no car (don’t want any), I hate public transport, and do everything by bike which is my favorite transport (I ride about 30 to 50 kms every day for work, shopping, bring my son to school, etc)

Today me and my son, we live with Yael, my beautiful and great recently wedded wife, who will also be happy to meet you as she shares my thirst for multicultural encounters and exchanges

PHILOSOPHY

Curiosity and tolerance are my motos in life
However, moral values are also very important to me
The minimum for me is to appreciate diversity in people, never judge, always learn from others and share as many things as possible with them, always with respect

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've had the occasion to host several people and I must say it was ALWAYS a great pleasure. Showing my own town and surroundings, meeting great people from abroad, sharing great talks and ideas, made me feel I was travelling myself !
I think it's a brilliant idea and I hope this great concept will continue to grow and revolutionarize the way people are travelling, helping develop a better international human communication.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I travelled to Ireland through Couchsurfing. It was a great authentic experience : I met many interesting people and went very far through the countryside and seaside all by bike with no map (I found my way just by asking all the people I met)
I went through a HUGE tour of Spain all through Andalusia and the Eastern coast up until the North. The trip lasted 3 weeks with 6 different CS hosts, it was one of my best travel experience !
I went back to LONDON, my favorite city in Europe (which I know quite well for living there for 2 years, a long time ago)
I slept in a Berlin flat shared by a community of 30 people.
I've just started travelling with CS again (after 10 years not doing it for family reasons), I'm so happy and proud about my last experience in Milan where I met great people, one of whom I've just hosted in Strasbourg.

Interests

  • culture
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies :
I love very old cartoons (from the 30's and 40's, Disney, Max Fleischer, Tex Avery, etc.) I'm a movie fanatic (my favourite directors : B.De Palma, Coppola, W Allen, Tim Burton, Paul Verhoeven, David Lynch, Alan Parker,...). I love flamboyant movies with a lot of drama, tragedy, poetry, adventure. I can literally live inside a movie and travel inside a story.
Music :
I love Jazz, Blues, World music, Gipsy music from Eastern Europe, Amy Winehouse, Michael Jackson, Pink Floyd, French singers : Renaud, Pigalle, Mano Solo, Brassens, Gainsbourg, Barbara, Jacques Brel, Edith Piaf, etc... I play the piano and the accordion.
Books :
I love 19th century litterature, especially Anglo-Saxon fantasy litterature (Edgar Allan Poe, Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, Robert Louis Stevenson) as well as Yiddish litterature (Isaac Bashevis Singer)
Photography : I love taking pictures, in color or black and white (one of the reason why I want to travel)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The birth of my son, Ariel in October 2011, watching him and helping him grow up, building nice memories with him, etc (an adventure which I’m still enjoying!)
I had been living alone with him for many years until the second next amazing experience happened :

The meeting with my amazing wife Yael in March 2021 (after a very long period being a single dad)
I’m still thanking god everyday for giving me the opportunity to live with her, for our unconditional love and for the new happiness she brings to my son

I lived two years in London : an extraordinary city, with lots of contrasts, cultures, atmospheres.

I lived in Paris for 2 years and hated it THEN but rediscovered it when I returned and explored the city with my bike. I now LOVE it, know it perfectly and could be a tourist guide there I guess!

I lived 1 year in Jerusalem when I was 13 year old. I am fascinated by this 3000 year old city, so rich with History and amazing cultures. It is also a city with all sorts of crazy religious groups who all think they are living in the center of the world and are the chosen ones. But this is what makes the charm of it. What would be the place without the « Jerusalem syndrom » ? I was there during the 1st War of the Gulf when tension was at its peaks. There, I've seen amazing and sad things too...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you photography and how to retouch pictures and make anybody look handsome (on pictures only, sorry!)
I can cook pasta with aubergine (my culinary speciality)
I could talk about movies for hours...

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, France, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Israel, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups