Melanie Tenaschuk

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Catering & Sales Coordinator
  • BA in General Social Science & Event Management Post Grad
  • From Ottawa, Ontario
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To learn about the culture first hand, through the locals :)


Hi my name is Melanie and I'm 26 and have graduated from the University of Ottawa as well as Event Management at Algonquin College. I'm always up for an adventure no matter where I am. I've lived in Ottawa since I was tiny, and know the city very well. I love to travel and I'm currently planning a Europe trip with Eric, my partner! It will be his first time to Europe, and I can't wait to experience it with him. I've been on a 2 month Euro-trip a few years ago, however can't wait to experience more of the world.

I'm a very easy going and open minded person who always makes the best out of every situation, with a smile on my face! I am very eager to meet new people through the couchsurfing experience and to learn what the world has to offer!

*I'm very outdoorsy- On a typical sunny summer day you'll probably find me out on some kind of outdoor adventure. I'm not afraid to get dirty
*I'm spontaneous- I'm always up for trying something new at least once!
*I can have fun doing almost anything and am always up for trying something out of the ordinary.
*I'm very creative and don't care what people think, even if something is bizarre or out of the ordinary! What's normal these days anyway?
*I love cooking and trying new foods


I will try everything at least twice. Once to see if I like it, and a second time just to make sure!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I participate by bringing my open-mind to experience new cultures. I look to learn about culture through the locals :)
Also, I am very happy to meet new people who are visiting Ottawa and will do my best to meet for coffee, a drink, a tour of the city, or to pass on some tips on what I like best about Ottawa!


I have hosted a few people however unfortunately don't currently have the space. I have surfed a few couches on my Euro trip as well as my cross-Canada trip. I've also been to plenty of events and gatherings both in my hometown, across Canada and in Europe as well. I've only met nice people and had positive experiences in the CS community!


Art, Music, Movies, Travel, Ocean, Sunshine, the Outdoors, the Wilderness, Camping, Photography, Meeting new people, Trying new foods, Exploring, Hiking, water sports, skiing, snowboarding, new experiences, Wildlife, SUSHI, campfires, astronomy, Open minded people, having a good time in general!

Music, Movies, and Books

My musical taste is quite vast, from alternative, to classical, to jazz, to electronic, to dance, to acoustic, to top 40, to oldies, to folk... The list goes on!
However I'm not a huge fan of heavy metal or country.

I've grown to love reading. First full read was well... The 50 Shades trilogy. Poorly written, yet addicting. Now I'm onto - the Beautiful Bastard series (quite an interesting read).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have crossed Canada, driving just over 20,000 km in a 2001 Pontiac Sunfire. We drove all the way to the East Coast, into PEI... Then we headed to Vancouver island through the entire country. We couch-surfed, slept in the back of the car with the seat pulled down (Good thing we're both short!) and camped as well. On the way back, we drove through the Northern part of the United States. It was definitely a trip of a lifetime! Oh, and the car is still running with over 225,000km to date!

Teach, Learn, Share

Learning through experience, and others' experiences is the best way to learn.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm quite intellectual, creative, and always up for an adventure. I'm always up for a new challenge and I'd love to share my experiences with my hosts. I also love to cook, so learning some traditional recipes and sharing some of mine would also be wonderful!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin (French part), Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups