Mieke Munderloh

Goettingen, Lower Saxony, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mieke’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Arabic (Egypt), Spanish
  • 21, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student (Sociology and Political Sciences)
  • traveling- the best education there is
  • From Oldenburg, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


trying to ignore my travel bug to concentrate on studying here in Goettingen


Huh, okay, where to start... I can be a lot of things, depending where and when you meet me. In the morning, before my first coffee, I'm normally grumpy, especially when it's still early. After breakfast I'm happy, because breakfast is awesome. Before midday I'm adventurous, the day has just started. At lunchtime I'm talkative, especially with another coffee in my hand. In the afternoon I'm finally doing what I planned to do in the morning. In the evening I'm getting a bit lazy, I like to sit somewhere and have a chat, preferably in front of a fireplace. At night I'm either active and walk around (cities are often most beautiful after sunset) or got stuck with a good book or my laptop and play some games. But that is just one example.
I love talking to people, learning something from others, but have my introvert moments as well when I curl up somewhere and just read for some hours. Since I'm traveling I've become a lot more independent and outgoing, and I really started to appreciate being on my own, out of the comfort zone, and making decisions as I go. I'm very spontaneous and impulsive, sometimes too spontaneous, but one important thing I learned is that there's a solution to every problem, even when you are stuck somewhere without speaking the language, money or having a place to sleep.


You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Finally had my first surfers over and totally loved it! If you come to my place I'm happy to share everything with you, food, experiences, knowledge about all kind of stuff, my flat,... whatever you need. I was welcomed to so many great homes already and will try and give it back as good as I can.


Had some pretty amazing hosts during my travels, and met so many different people because of couchsurfing, for a coffee, for a trip, for a concert, for a party, for a whole journey... love it!


traveling (of course), talking to random strangers, living, laughing, exploring, taking pictures of everything and everyone, seeing something new. But sometimes just having a lazy day playing computer games is the best thing for me. Love listening to all kind of music, going to concerts/festivals, every now and then a bit of a party. Dancing salsa, making cocktails, movie nights etc

Music, Movies, and Books

Oh, way too much to list it all!
Completely fell in love with the Lord of the Rings movies and Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones, and if you'd ask for something more off the record I'd really recommend to watch 'Simon and the Oaks'
I absolutely love reading, although I have to admit that all the stuff I have to read for uni made me read less books than I used to do. Again I have to mention A Song Of Ice And Fire, but also 'Night Train to Lisbon' and, to be honest, Harry Potter. Still love them, always will I guess. :D
Like I said, one of my favorite things to do is listening to music, nearly every genre.
But if I would have to name some favorite bands, it would probably be Beirut(!!!), Kroke, Seeed, Alexandrina, Depeche Mode, Rammstein, Florence+The Machine, Alt-J and Pink.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-134m Bungy jump in Queenstown; was shitting myself but as soon as I (finally) jumped it was one of the best feelings ever!
- living in Ecuador (honestly, I just loved it, such a great place!)
- Skydive in New Zealand
- snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef
- swimming with sting rays and sharks at Moorea
- visiting Hobbiton
- a desert trip in Israel; meeting Beduins, seeing beautiful monasteries built in canyons, camels and camping at the dead sea

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you around wherever I am at that point, or through my music collection, teach you some German (although I honestly don't know why anyone would want to learn that, our grammar is just ridiculous) and always enjoy exchanging some knowledge about other cultures.

What I Can Share with Hosts

anything I know about places I've been to, my music and movie collection, recipes for German dishes (because by now I've become far better at cooking, yay!), German swearwords (of course, what else?!)... whatever you want, really! just ask me :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Israel, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, Germany, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Mieke’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups