Mieke van der Veen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mieke’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Cognitive Behavioural Therapist
  • MSc behavioural sciences, cognitive behavioural therapy
  • From Coevorden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make the earth a happier place by spreading all my sunshine all over the world ;)

ABOUT ME

I'm a kind, outgoing girl, I try enjoying every bit of my life. My personality is warm and enthousiastic, even very pessimistic people get a little bit of optimism being around me for a while ;).

I like a great party (and go to them quite regularly... ) but I enjoy a good book, movie or a good talk with a friend just as much. I like sports, especially in the water (swimming, surfing) I'm creative, love drawing, painting and making nice things.
Traveling is one of my greatest passions, been to so many beautiful countries and the bucketlist is still growing.

I live with my wonderful boyfriend Robin (also on CS). We are currently moving to a bigger place which enables us to host people again soon. We keep seperate profiles because we are quite independent and travel a lot on our own as well.

PHILOSOPHY

The best place to be is a few steps out of your comfortzone!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

While traveling I met a lot of interesting people from all over the world! I learned a lot from them and gave me great insights about how I want to lead my life. It also tought me to look at myself as someone who lives by a particular culture, and made me notice habits that I never payed attention to before. Above that, I love meeting new people, sharing stories and experiences!

I hosted and couch surfed some people a few years ago. But due to busy times and no space I haven't been here for a while. But I love meeting new people I believe CS is the best way to get to know the real country and culture!

Interests

I'm interested in music, movies, swimming, drawing, dancing, meeting friends for a drink, cooking and of course traveling! I'm always craving for new experiences, challenges and most of all love meeting new people.

  • culture
  • books
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • education
  • cooking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • drawing
  • music
  • surfing
  • sports
  • swimming
  • psychology
  • social science
  • series

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is very diverse but usually goes into the alternative rock/experimental corner. When I go out I like just about anything I can dance to. At home I love listening to dreamy music like Radiohead, Air and Portishead. And discovering new music on Spotify or YouTube all the time.

If I find the time and peace I love reading novels. Especially the nerdy fantasy kind, with lots of magic and dragons haha!

I like movies but not watching many these days. I do watch series, currently Game of Thrones and New Girl.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have done so many amazing things that people usually say I might as well have had 3 full and exciting lives already. I'm gonna add up some things that pop into my mind now:
Attended a friends full week Hindu wedding in Bangalore, India last March
Seen a vulcano erupt in Java (with lava fountains and everything!!!)
Swam with Dolphins in the open sea in Christchurch, New Zealand
Surfing in Bali
Volunteerwork at an orphanage in Cambodia
5 day trekking through the Himalayas in Nepal
A few trekkings in New Zealand
And... walked the 4 day marches in my hometown Nijmegen twice! 160km in 4 days, hellz yeah!

Teach, Learn, Share

As I said in the participation bit, I like to learn from people of other cultures. To learn about their culture and about my own (since many daily habits are so normal here, I forget they aren't in many different cultures). Of course it would go the other way around too :)
I do know a lot about psychology and find it very interesting how people think and learn. I see people as interesting puzzles, some are very difficult to figure out. But I tend to move towards the more complicated people, they are the most interesting right?
And furthermore I am a bit of a free mind concerning relationships and living in the moment, meditation, mindfulness and stuff. I love telling about those things and love learning from others in that way.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Peace and love haha!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Laos, Nepal, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mieke’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups