Steven Maes

Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Steven’s full profile. It’s free!


  • maintenance electrician, explorer and getting lost
  • electricity
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

*don't forget to look at the part called Steven's home as there is something standing there that you need to read*
**I normally don't do last-minute hosting**
***it's normal I don't 'reply' if you don't do an effort***

I'm a (young) man who want to see other places from a different view.

I got interest in some cultures and think with couchsurfing that I will learn more about them.

I like a good drink.
I like a good laugh, going out, nice company and good food.
Storytelling about what I have seen and listening to stories of others
Also, I like to do some things I normally wouldn't do.


There's a million ways to see the things in life
a million ways to be the fool (I want out - Helloween)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I want to experience what couchsurfing is and helping others to experience to. I help, I host, I surf.


I try to attend meetings in Antwerp, we have 2 monthly meetings, being the monthly meeting and the new members meeting.

I hosted:
Yvonne (Hong Kong),
Tommy (Belgium),
Allison (USA),
Jeremy (USA),
Aurélien and friend (France, Brittany),
Maureen & Chris & Phil (Scotland, Glasgow),
Frank & Sandra (Germany & Venezuela)
Daniele & Mikela (Italians from the Netherlands)
Mariya & Luciano (the live in Germany but are from Bulgary and spain)
Alexander (Russia)
Crunch (Singapore)
Rachel (Spain)
Jenny (Germany)
Dave (Canada)
Marina (Russia)
Mark (Netherlands)
Víctor & Deli (Spain)
Pawel and Kasia (Poland)
Peet & friend (Netherlands)
Fabien (France)
Janneke, Hilde & Inneke (Netherlands)
Jelena & Bosko (Serbia/Servia)
Jeroen & Tessa and two other people (Rotterdam and Eindhoven, Netherlands)
Joel (Wales)
Damian & Natalia (Poland)
Diego & Catu (Argentina)
Tim & Aurélie (Netherlands and France)
Gregor (Leipzig, Germany)
Julie and Joe (USA + Spain)
Oscar, Fabiola, Maartin, Jeroen and QJ. (Rotterdam, Netherlands)
And many others that I've forgot to write down

Maureen & Chris (Glasgow, Scotland),
Louise (Aberdeen, Scotland),
Myriam (France, Chancay)
Ily (Ghent, Belgium),
Tommy (Aalst, Belgium),
Karlos (Altsasua, Spain, Basque Country),
Alexander (Honoribia, Basque Country, Spain),
Marek & family (Edinburgh, Scotland), Lukasz (Edinburgh, Scotland),
Fiona (Aberdeen, Scotland),
Otto (Utrecht, Netherlands),
Benny and Frank (Dresden, Germany),
Johannes (Berlin, Germany),
Amu and Anne (Köln, Germany),
Alwin and family (Berlaar, Belgium)
Sandra (Caracas, Venezuela)
David (Los Angeles, half beer pong hero because I was the total winner, US)
-don't know name anymore- (San Francisco)
Rebecca (Seattle, US)
Mitch & friends (Portland, Oregon, US)
Erika (Portland, Oregon, US)
Taylor (Seattle, US)
Jane (Vancouver, Canada)
Daniël (Vancouver, Canada)
Kye & friends (Calgary, Canada)
Franz (Germany)
Michel (Luxembourg)
and others I accidentally forgot

Traveled with Marie-Laure,
traveled with Sandra Sandrita.
traveled with Marjan & Malka
and other people I meet on trips

Since living in Antwerp I organised a couple of meetings, and with the Antwerp Kick-Off I started helping organizing them since 2012

this list above hasn't been updated for a while, mostly because I'm getting to lazy to update my profile the whole time, so this list is accurate till January 2013 or so.


historic culture
food and local beer

Music, Movies, and Books

fantasy (example: Tolkien, Terry Pratchett)

rock & metal (Bon Jovi, Blind Guardian, Sonata Arctica ... and many more)
but I stand open for a lot of different music.
Dutch songs, country, jazz ... I have a big taste of music.

I'm not a fan of thrillers and horror
more comedy and action

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

no clue, I seem to forget about all the amazing things I have done

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a few words Dutch to my hosts and guests.
Dunno how that would help.
I can talk about certain items that has a connection to electricity, like power plants and trains.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share some Belgium/Dutch/Flemisch/Netherland music if my memory works good

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, France, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Steven’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups