miguel varela's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see miguel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • DJ and Events Organizer
  • Sound Engineering and Music Production
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a portuguese traveler and adventurous guy from the beautiful city of Lisbon. I think my city is the best place on earth, but I am looking to see other realities, landscapes, and beautiful like-minded people. In the last months, I am feeling like being useful in something, that I can learn with at the same time.

I am a nature and eco live style lover. I am a sports lover: mountain bike, kayak, rowing and jogging. I love to travel and stay in one single place to enjoy time, moments and meet people. I am very curious about learning eco-sustainable ways of living, permaculture and bio-agriculture in general.

I am looking to travel, cultural exchange, language exchange, to know more about permaculture and bio agriculture, to learn about renewable energies and sustainable lifesyles, to learn more about building with my own hands and being auto-sufficient, and to meet interesting people.

My main work experience is inside the music and events industry in Portugal and the UK. I work as DJ, sound technician and events organizer. Together with my crew in Lisbon, we started a project of underground, intimate and cozy secret parties in different abandoned places in Lisbon. After 2 years, it became an underground art and music movement renowned internationally, bringing a fresh air to the events and music local scene :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am here, because I think Couchsurfing is one of the best ways of travelling and meet interesting new people.
I have been using Couchsurfing since 2015 hosting travellers, using the 'couch' when I am travelling, and inviting new people for my events in Lisbon. It's been working very well, and I actually did very good friends here :)

Interests

  • music festivals
  • running
  • traveling
  • music
  • electronic music
  • hiking
  • travel
  • nature
  • house music
  • jogging
  • events
  • event planning
  • event management

Music, Movies, and Books

I work with Underground Electronic Music in styles such us: House Music, UK Garage, Techno, Acid, Dubstep, etc.
I also love World Music, specially: latin, afrobeat and turkish.

In films, I love independent films and documentaries. Also some short animated films.

In books I like historic and politic books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelling in India for 2 months with very few money, and without a phone.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Portuguese and English. I can teach how to DJ too!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, nice stories of my life, travels I did, culture of Portugal, UK and Europe.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, India, Italy, Macedonia, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see miguel’s full profile.

My Groups