Mihai Giurgiulescu's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 22 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mihai’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Romanian; learning French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • GIS Analyst
  • University - Master's Degree
  • From Târgu Jiu, Gorj County, Romania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was lucky enough to be offered a great job in the Eastern Sierra, and relocated to work and live at the base of the best mountain range in the United States, the Sierra Nevada. Bishop is the gateway to exceptional recreational opportunities, from hiking and climbing to fishing and camping, and everything in between. I actively engage in these activities year-round, according to the season. Spending approximately equal amounts of lifetime between Romania and California, in conjunction with having completed my education at two of the top public universities in the world, has gifted me with a unique appreciation of people, places and cultures. You can be certain that you'll never be bored in my company.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

GUESTS PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING RULES:
1. I do not host on weekends.
2. Need at least 1 day notice. The earlier the better. No same day requests.
3. Maximum stay is 2 nights.
4. Three people at most per stay.
5. I reserve the right to cancel your stay on short notice if family or friends need to stop by.
Rare exceptions can occur, contact me for more info.

I greatly enjoy sharing my love of the outdoors with like-minded travelers, so by becoming a host I can help others appreciate the natural and cultural wonders of the Sierra Nevada (as well as nearby Great Basin, which spans the states of California and Nevada), make great connections and memories, and in turn learn and grow with the knowledge received from guests.
I also hope that helping out people who find themselves in my area will pay off down the line, when my turn to travel comes and I could use a place to stay or advice where to go. I do believe, firmly, that what goes around comes around, so if we go out of our ways to help out people who impact our lives in ways small or big, that means we really have made a difference and defines us as CARING for one another.

Interests

  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • philosophy
  • exploring
  • climbing
  • cultural exchange
  • ethnic food

Music, Movies, and Books

Being asked to express a cultural preference is like being asked to pick a favorite sibling or child. I am bibliophile and average about a book a week. It's impossible for me to make a list of particular books that I liked more than others, so instead I will put down some of my favorite authors: Mircea Cartarescu, Haruki Murakami, Michel Houellebecq, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Cormac McCarthy, David Mitchell, Isabel Allende, Naomi Klein, etc etc etc. I also read a lot of mountaineering literature.

Musically, I enjoy listening to indie and electronic artists, as well as soaking in the sounds of various performers from around the globe. In terms of bands, some of my all-time favorites are U2, Calexico, David Bowie, The Killers, Queen, Arcade Fire, ABBA and the Rolling Stones.

I don't watch as much film as I used to in college, but still retain a taste for independent movies, particularly from non-English speaking countries, as these expose me to other languages, cultural norms and ways of life that I can use to shape my own ability to understand and make connections with people from all over the world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I climb mountains. Every week. It's incredible. The adrenaline rush and the satisfaction of overcoming one's own limitations are feelings that cannot be replicated anywhere else, which is why I am hooked.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, India, Mexico, Netherlands, Romania, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Romania, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mihai’s full profile.

My Groups