Mikael Wijns

Brussels, Belgium

Mikael Wijns

Brussels, Belgium

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mikael’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Vagabond, arborist
  • Greenmanagement
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello!

I will be very short, that's how I am...

"How can you respect someone's words if you don't respect his silence ?"

I traveled for the last 6 years, that changed my life and I became a very open-minded, easy-going person.

I like my moments alone in the nature as well as being with other people, but I don't really enjoy staying a whole night in the pub.

I'm into nature, climbing, hiking, vegetarian cooking, psytrance and tekno, permaculture, sustainable living,... I love animals and the freedom I get when I am traveling.

Together with my dog Vita, I am traveling in my van... Looking for the right place... Yes! I am terribly sick! I have the travellers' virus and I will always be looking for The place where I can finally set my anchor.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's a lot of people with the same vibe around the globe and even then it might be difficult to meet them! Internet is a good thing for this... :-)

Interests

Tree and rock climbing, and actually all kind of outdoor extreme sports.

I love to be outside in the nature for sport, relaxing, meditation or for "bushparties" :D

I also really enjoy a nice and busy, cultural city. As long as it's moving, it is fine.

I really like everything about homesteading and survival, from building my own sustainable house to permaculture and edible/medicinal plants and mushrooms.

My biggest wish right now is to be completely self-sufficient and I would like to meet more people who think like me so I can learn from them.

  • festivals
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • partying
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • homesteading
  • survival
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • extreme sports

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: classic music, goa and tekno and everything between

Movies: La belle verte (The beautifull green one), Soylent green, Idiocracy, The harder they come, V for Vendetta, ... and much much more !

Books: Don t touch this book, Plants of God, 1984,...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Amazing is a big word... I have done a lot of good things that I really enjoyed, like big walks, festivals, climbing massive trees, ...

The best thing is that I love my job. I think that's pretty amazing as most people spent most of their live working and don't enjoy what they are doing. That must be really miserable...

Teach, Learn, Share

Some people are so poor, the only thing they have is money.

A tourist don't know where he went, a traveller don't know where he's going.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I really enjoy cooking. I am not really good at following recipes, but I enjoy just cooking with what I have and on the feeling, so if you want, I can always cook for you.

Oh, after eating quite a lot of meat for most of my life, i actually realized I don't really need it, so I am vegeterian now. But you will see, there are heaps of things to replace your steak and it is really not going to be a boring meal ! :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Canada, New Zealand, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Mikael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups