Mike Thompson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Pedicab driver/ Photographer
  • University of Texas Journalism major
  • From TX, USA
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I'm a 23 year old senior at the University of Texas at Austin. I'm currently in Morioka, Iwate, Japan studying abroad. I'm a fun-loving guy, very interested in learning and seeing new things. My dad was in the military, so I've lived in many states in the US, but I would say Texas is my home state. I have worked for a few magazines at my school, and my goal is to become a professional photographer in the future. In Austin, I work as a Pedicab driver to earn money to fund my schooling.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My last week in Japan starts on the 19th of next month (August), and I will be doing some traveling so that I can see more of this awesome country. Unfortunately, I've self-funded this whole studying abroad trip, and so my funds are running relatively low. After paying for the night buses and meals during the week of traveling, I would have little left for a hotel. So a friend told me about this site, so I thought I'd give it a shot.

Interests

  • animals
  • photography
  • motorcycles
  • anime
  • traveling
  • tennis
  • solo travel
  • adventures
  • japanese culture
  • adventure time

Music, Movies, and Books

I love Hip-hop especially, but I enjoy most types of music. My favorite 2 movies of all time are Space Jam, and Men in Black

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I managed to get accepted into this study abroad class and raise enough money to come over here. I'm proud of myself for that.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am learning Japanese, and I'm not great at it, but I can effectively communicate enough. I love to help non-english speakers learn new words and phrases. And I like to share pictures I've taken through my travels.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Besides things like language and company and pictures of my travels, I don't have a lot to offer. I can do housework in exchange for a place to sleep and a meal or 2, though.

Countries I’ve Visited

Japan, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile. It’s free!