Mike V's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 5% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • making society a safer place
  • Law, political sciences & history
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To such great heights

ABOUT ME

What probably defines me best, is my curiosity to keep learning, experiencing new things. No matter the subject, I'll be all ears in the hope of broadening my knowledge and adding my two cents.
I evidently love to travel. Either by wandering the streets of some unknown city, or by hiking national parks in the great outdoors. Since I started Spanish lessons, I've especially developed a fascination for the Spanish world.

After several years of working in Brussels and living in Leuven, I moved to Gent and am working in Bruges. I like to think I have the best job in the world, but what really makes me happy is just cruising the world's deserted regions, watching their great skies, exploring their hiking trails and last but not least meeting the locals.

PHILOSOPHY

Work hard, play harder and never surrender.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am willing to host, and am always eager to show you around in the city and have a drink with you.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

It all started in 2008, in the fair city of Vienna, and it never stopped since.

Interests

Music, society, politics, history, wine, cooking, bicycling and so much more.

I've developed an ever increasing interest for social relations. In the end, our ability to talk to each other is what makes humans so unique.

I'm always up for a talk about any topic, preferably with a local beer/wine.

  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • drinking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • geography
  • history
  • law
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

I dig pretty much all music that isn't too commercial.

Movies: evidently, but it's all about tv series these days ;)

Books: if only days had more than 24 hours... Still getting to it, though!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

6 great years @university.
Hiking America's national parks.
Exploring Patagonia.
Just living my life on this fascinating planet.

Teach, Learn, Share

Ask me anything about geography, Belgium's "original" state structure or legal system, western history or late 20th century gothic music ;)

I'm open to learn a bit more about anything that fascinates you.

And sharing is what it's actually about in life. So let's do that plentifully!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cfr. supra ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mali, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Palestine, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile.