Fotos von Mike Winter

Nicht verifiziertes Profil

  • Zahlungsart nicht verifiziert
  • Handynummer nicht verifiziert
  • Ausweis nicht verifiziert
  • Adresse nicht verifiziert

Nimmt keine Gäste auf

  • Letzte Anmeldung vor about 2 months

Registriere dich bei Couchsurfing, um das komplette Profil von Mike zu sehen. Es ist kostenlos!

Übersicht

  • 4 Referenzs 4 Bestätigt & positiv
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Mitglied seit 2010
  • Student/Researcher
  • PhD Student, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Kein Heimatort aufgeführt
  • Profil zu 100 % vollständig

Über mich

CURRENT MISSION

To see, hear, think and travel with spirit through time and space.

ABOUT ME

I am a 26 year old PhD student at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, GA. I've lived here for about 1 year now. Before that I lived in the great city of Montreal where I learned a bit of French and got my masters. I'm enjoying continuing my education in a place very different than I am used to. The weather is great here, there are lots of trees, and there is a kind of sweet luxury to the heat. I live with my common-law partner Claire R. Miller, a potter who I love dearly. I try to do at least one thing well---play beautiful music with my time and entertain the joys of solitary art. When I'm feeling good, I like to run everyday and explore in my free time. Walks are a part of me and they will be until my legs won't anymore!

Before coming coming to GaTech, I received an M.A. in music technology at McGill University. My thesis was about how to use sound to convey emotion objectively.

Before this, I was a double major in physics and piano at the College of Wooster in Ohio! I also received minors in philosophy and mathematics! I was busy, but still had a great time. I've hung out with artists mostly since then, and am proud of some of the work that I have commissioned!

In music I can rock out, but my true passion is the art royal of the sublime. Sufjan Stevens is my favorite musician presently, but I am quite open musically. I'm an artist in my own way, dabbling where necessary and trying to remember to write and read constantly. My professional skills are in audio and sound synthesis. I've been practicing piano for 18 years.

I'm very open to meeting new people and tend to get along with almost everyone. I value cleanliness, passion, openness and bravery. I have a sensuous and daring perspective at my best in life.

Warum ich bei Couchsurfing bin

I discovered couchsurfing a few years ago. I've met wonderful people, and the experiences I have had with people have been singular and amazing. I have surfed in Budapest, Finland, and in Montreal (before I moved here). I have hosted in Montreal and in Chicago (where I grew up). Couchsurfing operates on amazing human principles and is undoubtably the best way to travel. Getting quickly into the culture and life of the city, meeting locals, and seeing all of the gems of a city you otherwise would never.

Hosting has been fun as well, though I'm often to busy to enjoy the company of surfers. And unfortunately, I'm currently in a living arrangement that does not allow me to host often... I'm hoping that will change in the near future, and will look forward to hosting more then!

Interessen

Music
Physics
Philosophy
Mathematics
Eastern Religions
Psychology
Art
Poetry
Literature
Nature
Intelligencia

  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • poetry
  • education
  • running
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • piano
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • teaching
  • law
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • psychology
  • religion

Musik, Filme und Bücher

Music: New Music, Digital Instruments, Sufjan Stevens, Of Montreal, Animal Collective, Radiohead, The Books, Joanna Newsom

Books: Many. As many as possible in reverse order in under one minute, The Awakening, Story of the Eye, Philiosophy in the Bedroom, Gravities Rainbow, Crime and Punishment, Grapes of Wrath, The Trial, Nausea...

Movies: Indy ones that make you just a tad uncomfortable but are stunning in their beauty. I recently watched "Enter the Void" for example, which I like a lot, though is not for everyone.

Eine tolle Erfahrung, die ich gemacht habe

Probably sleeping under the stars in the desert with Northwest Youth Corps. The desert actually gets very cold at night. There is so much out there that wants to kill you and make you generally uncomfortable. It just makes the pretty things strangely beautiful.

Lehren, lernen, teilen

I know a lot about a little (Sonification, Music Technology) and a little about a lot (philosophy, physics, hiking, backpacking, cutting down trees, digging trail, rideshare, etc.

Länder, die ich besucht habe

Germany, Hungary, United States

Länder, in denen ich gelebt habe

Canada, United States

Registriere dich bei Couchsurfing, um das komplette Profil von Mike zu sehen. Es ist kostenlos!

Meine Gruppen