Logo orange

MILANOLA

Taormina, Sicilia, Italy

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MILANOLA's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 53 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • part time student, full time dreamer
  • housetrained
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to be in two places at once

ABOUT ME

I guess my mission tells it all. The inner battle between wanting to see the world and meet people but at the same time remaining in the lives of the people in your life, who matter to you and who you love, whatever country the live in. I could have pretty nice and normal life if I'd just stay in one place, but instead I want to do something a little bit different. I've lived, studied and traveled in Australia for 2 and half years and I did the same in Spain for over 7 months. Now I will see where life takes me, and it took me to US. In the future I'm hoping to cruise to South and Central America and backpack there on my spare time. After studies I want to go back to Asia to do some diving and possibly even become a diving instructor. Other option I have contemplated, would be going to work on a luxury cruise boat somewhere for a while...do all this stuff now so I can say that I really lived.

PHILOSOPHY

"Because something burns inside of me
It’s everything I long to be
And lies they only stop me from feeling free
Like a hobo from a broken home,
nothing's gonna stop me"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When i have a more permanent situation would love to give my place to crash for people and show them around, and brake all possible barriers and prejudices about different cultures and nationalities. Update: By now I have hosted several people and have had a great time, and made some awesome friends.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

mine have been unintended...just fallen asleep on friends couches :). Can't help it!
-Now done it quite a lot and loving it!!!

Interests

people and different cultures in general, traveling, volleyball and beach volley ball, books, music, movies, wildlife,volunteering, wanna do everything from bungee jumping to sky diving when i have the money...I like to drawing and write about the things I come across in life.

Music, Movies & Books

duffy, leonard cohen, damien rice, mew, maria mena, sondre lerche, the crash, arctic monkeys,disco ensemble, stella, sigur ros, foo fighters, RHCP, the white stripes, system of a down, architecture in Helsinki, Sinuhe Egyptian, Tristessa, Lonesome Traveler,100 hair strokes before bedtime, in my skin, angels&demons, the picture of dorian gray, into the wild, a love song for bobby long, black snake moan, basketball diaries, city of Gods, Butterfly Effect...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Traveling in Asia straight after high school: a train trip from Beijing to Shanghai in the cheapest class, living for 2 weeks for free in strangers apartment in Hong Kong, crazy night at 5am in Bangkok+Fullmoon party& New Years and scuba diving in Thailand, para-sailing in and exploring Malaysia and even got escorted by a policeman to my accommodation in Singapore. Volunteering in a elementary school in Tanzania 2006 and hiking in Kilimanjaro and safari in Serengeti's wild life park. Saw a lioness hunting down a zebra 5 meters from me. Traveling around Australia for 2,5 years; swimming with dolphins, sharks, mantarays, turtles etc. Playing with the sea lions and being a substitute mom for a joey that we rescued from the road. Seeing baby turtles hatching and running to the water for the first time. Hitchhiking around Europe. I'll tell you more later ;P.

Teach, Learn, Share

Tolerance is not acceptance.

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Cyprus, England, Finland, Mexico, Russian Federation, Spain, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see MILANOLA's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile