Damian Jakibchuk's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Damian’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Ukrainian; learning French, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Bartender
  • University of Toronto
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

A change of career.

ABOUT ME

I've long graduated university, and always hoped to get away with avoiding the tediousness of a career. In my mind, I'd live on a boat and maybe sell french fries off of it, or teach scuba-diving if I ever learned how again. I'd really like to learn first hand how other people live, so lately I've been sneaking my way into different trades. It would be great to try the extremes and maybe live in a hut for a while though, or briefly be a bum, hahaha. Let's not forget being rich.

I love when anything out of the ordinary happens, and especially the people that make it happen. Awkward situations - a nice change.

I love being lost.

I can't stay put, and I don't often think about planning for the future, unless it's just some crazy dream goal of mine. However, I have seen that finding the right woman to love and love you back is an amazing thing to commit to. To sum it up, I've become a sap.

I require very little to live comfortably, and I'm good at depriving myself when necessary. Been a vegetarian for 22 years, but my diet has been 100% vegan for over 10 years.

PHILOSOPHY

Nothing good ever happened to the guy who stayed at home.

If I could, I'd never walk down the same path twice. Any new experiences are always valuable, even when they're scary. I'll always push myself to jump into things.
Life is an experience. I'm not walking out of it with at least a few scars and love bites to show.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hope to share in exchanges of kindness. I can watch your cats for you!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed for 3 months in the US (2008/9), then once or twice in England and Portugal, and things went really well. I've also put on a networking event or two. Now I've couchsurfed in Argentina (2015/16), and I'm blown away by the kindness there.

Interests

I've written 4 television pilots, a feature-length screenplay, and a one-act play. I'm also writing a book.

I've hosted my own weekly radio show out of the Yukon, and one in St. John's. Such great experiences.

I cycle long-distance sometimes.

  • writing
  • music festivals
  • music
  • live music
  • cycling
  • food
  • danger
  • imported beer

Music, Movies, and Books

Music might be the most important thing in my life. I love live shows; I'll even go by myself. I was pretty influenced by classic rock in my 20s, but I love blues, jazz, ambient rock, folk. I hope to be hosting an oldies radio show in the near future.

I don't enjoy reading much. I love words, but I'm a slow reader. Also, the idea of fictional writing bothers me.

Into The Wild
Boogie Nights
American History X
Breakdown
Rushmore
Punch Drunk Love...just a few of my favourite movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked 2 days out into the Alaskan wilderness to find the "Magic Bus," where I rafted the Teklanika river, and nearly died when we ran out of food and water.

Watched a couple get "married" by a "Shaman priest" at Burning Man in Nevada, concluded with the ceremonial drinking of each other's blood!

Cycled Argentina from top to bottom 5,856km.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a learner for life, and my goal is to become a jack-of-all-trades.
I still want to learn how to freight-hop, scuba-dive, and fix cars.

I could give you some tips about cycle touring, and I'm sure I could teach a bit of French. I have Rosetta Stone, haha

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share some interesting stories

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, Denmark, France, Ireland, Mexico, Portugal, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Damian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups