Chris and Jill Lambourne

Oamaru, Otago, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris and Jill’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Chris:Electrical Network Engineer/Electrician - I like bu...
  • Political Studies, Law, Theology and Education
  • From Manawatu and Catlins
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Ski as much as possible


We, Jill and I, live in the country just out of Oamaru. There will always be a few sheep around (currently a few hundred) and a bit to do around the farm(let). We only just shifted here but have had our eyes on the area for a while.

There are lots of limestone escarpments around and a few old quarries.


Don't expect to get better if you don't try.
Don't expect to try and not fail.
Laugh at yourself every so often.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Most of the time we have surfers staying. Though I have once been on the other side.

Sometimes we just meet up with CS people for a drink (coffee, wine, beer) or take them tramping or skiing.


We like people who have something to offer and don't see this as a free accomodation deal.


Chris reads a lot, mainly any book from the library that has good blurb. Jill likes dabbling in all sorts of things.

Music, Movies, and Books

Reggae, psychobilly, punk, alternative mixed up with Jazz. Jill's got a prediliction for alt country, but I've heard her singing along to Dolly Parton.

I read 2 or 3 books a week so the list is too too long. So today's book is "NZS Wiring Regulations 2007" - well I am studying for an exam in July.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Survived crashes, avalanches, fires, storms, bombings, muggings (mostly brought on by my own foolishness).

Teach, Learn, Share

I spent years doing buiness development for TV and Telecommunications. Currently I provide an ear, and advice, for a couple of people starting up their own businesses.

Things still to do: build a yurt; firewalking; and, flyfishing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Kenya, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Samoa, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris and Jill’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups