Mindy Swanson

Greenfield, MA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mindy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Music teacher
  • BMusic Ed and horn performance GO UMASS
  • From Northborough, MA, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


share the love (and watch the Northern Lights perform)


I've surfed around a bit and am now as settled as settled can be for someone who's never quite settled. I teach music in the public schools (pre-k to grade 6) to the cutest darn lil nuggets you could imagine. I am hoping someone will venture out to Greenfield and crash at my place. I live with my bunny, Clyde. On the weekdays I basically teach-eat-plan-sleep, but on the weekends I like to hike and bike and browse farmers markets and hear/see/play music and PARTY!


Teach and be taught.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My old roommate and I were members in college and hosted a few people in our little apartment. Then I hit the road for four months to see the lower 48 states and was taken in by many a generous CSers. The community has given me so much and now I am ready to give back.


I;ve surfed in Mississippi, Arkansas, Oklahoma, California, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Washington, Nebraska, and Iowa. Soon I hope to get my butt out of this country add to the list and add to the experience!

Not a single bad experience to speak of and I learned a lot while I was at it.


I enjoy the sunshine, colors, being in water, being near water, drinking water, fair weather, smiling, twirling my hair, singing, playing the horn, drinking coffee with milk, doing handstands, hugs, beads, crafts, grapefruit, puzzles, cooking food, mermaids, gin & tonics all-seasons, beer, cats (meow!), kids.

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy good childrens' books and even am a collector! I do read grown-up books too but only get them from the library and am in need of some more good suggestions. Currently on a Tom Robbins binge.

I judge music and movies by the way they make me feel. So, I steer clear of anything that might give me nightmares, make me clench my jaw or furrow my eyebrows. You'll just have to come and see for more details.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Okay two...

Packed up my car and travelled the country for four months, visiting each of the lower 48 states. Saw many stunning west coast sunsets. Probably the most amazing? Zion national park. Angel's landing. off-season in the snow. Making new friends while camping, and sharing the experience in a near empty park of gigantic magnificence that cannot be explained in words or pictures.

In 2014 I thru-hiked the entire Appalachian Trail, Georgia to Maine solo. It was the best experience of my life and I'd do it forever if it was possible to earn an income while hiking (ideas?). There is just something about walking for 6 months in one faithful tee-shirt and getting rid of everything except the true essentials. Hiking the AT restored my faith inhumanity, I learned what exactly it is that I need, and was reminded to be true to myself. The human interactions and kindness of strangers is the part I will never forget. You should give it a try!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you:
To twirl around til you fall down
To french braid
About the horn
E-brake turns (when it's icy)
To swim and especially float
To make earrings, bracelets, and necklaces
To make a paper crane
How to load a dishwasher efficiently (you just need to provide your own dishwasher)

I would LIKE to learn:
What I will find at the end of the rainbow
To surf in the ocean, not couches
To have the coordination to play a drum set
What it's like to be YOU

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Estonia, France, Ireland, Latvia, Morocco, Peru, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mindy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups