Logo orange

Edgar Tan

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Accepting Guests

97% response rate · Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Edgar's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 46 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Malay
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Nurse, Ethnic Community Radio Direct...
  • Bach. Nursing, NITEC (Nursing), Dip....
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

======================================================
Please read the "My Home" section before sending me a couch request.
======================================================

Updated 20 Oct 2014

- Nursing in Australia & Singapore,
- Clinical Hypnotherapy in Australia & Singapore,
- Mass Communications in USA,
- Massage in Thailand.

- Registered nurse,
- Director,
- Hospitality consultant,
- National youth representative,
- Executive producer & broadcaster,
- Clinical hypnotherapist,
- Fleet operations & marketing,
- Enrolled nurse,
- Chief executive officer (acting),
- Chef supervisor.

- National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters Council (NEMBC)
- Ethnic Community Broadcasting Association of Victoria (ECBAV, 3ZZZ)
- Greensborough College, Mill Park SC, Reservoir District SC, Melbourne HS, La Trobe University
- Division of Nursing and Midwifery, La Trobe University

- Australian College of Nursing
- Australian Nursing Federation (Victorian Branch)
- Singapore Nursing Board
- Singapore Nurses Association
- Fellowship of Christian Magicians

Hmmm... It's really difficult to describe myself.

Born and bred in Singapore. Came to Melbourne in 2008 and am finally graduated from university.

I'm working permanent part time night shift in a high care residential facility (similar to a nursing home) in Albert Park, about 5 minutes walk away from South Melbourne beach. Therefore, I'm free mostly during the day, but I do spend it either sleeping, or lazing at home. However, if I d have couch surfers around, I'll bring them around the city or for trips.

I'm also a consultant in a small family run restaurant serving Singapore cuisine full time - thus I feel that I'm back home in Singapore everyday with all the food.

Am also a community radio broadcaster, trainer and one of the directors/board member of the radio station. I produce and present the Polyfonix [English multicultural youth] program on 92.3fm (3ZZZ). 3ZZZ is the largest ethnic community radio station in Australia, broadcasting in 70 different community languages, 24 hours a day. Check it out at www.3zzz.com.au.

I guess you'll just have to ask me to find out more.

Click me - I won't bite, I promise. =)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting CouchSurfers in my house, located about 20 minutes from the city, bringing surfers around the city as well as to places around Victoria.

I also CouchSurf when I travel, if I can find a host or when my schedule permits.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted quite a few people who have been couch-surfing in my place, mainly from with introduction of my close friends and from CS. Recently, I've been inviting people over to my place using the open-requests feature from surfers looking for a couch.

I've surfed a couple of times when I was in Adelaide and it was a great experience.

Interests

Lots - from the list I can think of now includes:
Computers, Cars, Environment, Electric Vehicles, Internet, Mobile Phones, Technology, Travelling, Hanging out chilling, Movies, Music and more...

Music, Movies & Books

Use to read, but not now...
Open to all types of music - anything goes.
Movies: Pretty much most genres except for anything that makes me jump in my seat (but I still watch them, duh!)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Lotsa things. The 12 Apostles, 3 Sisters, Grampians & Angkor Wat.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Edgar's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile