Mirja Schoderer

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mirja’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Arabic, French, Norwegian, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Language Resident
  • No education listed
  • From Herbolzheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me


Surviving a year of teaching German at university


I'd say I'm a pretty easy-going, laid back person. My friends often say that they don't get how someone who hates being stressed as much as I do continually manages to end up with such a hectic schedule, but it just keeps happening.
Currently I'm staying in Claremont, CA and teaching German at one of the Claremont Colleges, but sometimes we get a free weekend and I love spending that time travelling as much as I can, seeing as much of the country and meeting as many great new people as possible!


Still working on something that sticks longer than a few days. Probably something along the lines of "Enjoy the little things in life"...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Well, seeing as I'm living on campus right now, I can't really host, but I'm looking forward to hosting people back in Berlin!


I went to the US two years ago on a big roundtrip with my little sister and we couchsurfed our way across the country for almost two months. What can I say, it was fantastic! And I've met so many great people during that time that I'm always looking forward to my next couchsurfing experience...


I enjoy hanging out with friends, now that it's summer preferably at one of Berlin's many parks or lakes where you can bbq in the evening. Top that off with a few beers at a nice bar, a concert or a night spent clubbing and I'll be telling you that my life's perfect. I also enjoy reading, cooking with my flatmate and goofing off with her in front of the karaoke machine in our apartment.
Reading, theatre and concerts of any kind are also failsafe ways to keep me happy.

Music, Movies, and Books

Oh geez, far too many to ever feasibly list...
The Kills and Frank Turner have me wishing being a groupie wasn't so 60s, The Doors and The Who have me wishing it still was the 60s and anything Glee has me dancing around my livingroom.
I enjoy reading pretty much anything, the classics (Oscar Wilde, Franz Kafka, Heinrich Böll and Albert Camus) just as much as some new, more "pop-cultural" stuff (I totally love Jasper Fforde's Thursday Next-books!). Also, I really enjoy a good scifi or fantasy book every once in a while

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelling across Morocco for two weeks. I couldn't seem to pick up my jaw from the floor, it's such an amazing country! Beautiful architecture, stunning landscape and super friendly people. If you can, go visit Morocco!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd really love to brush up my languages or teach them to someone else!
Also if you can show me a traditional dish from your country (or just your own personal favorite)I'm not just happy to eat but also to learn and to reciprocate ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love food, seriously. I can point you to a few great restaurants and fast food places around town, but I also really enjoy cooking myself. And after teaching German for a year at college, I guess I could at least teach you what not to say in the streets :P

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Czech Republic, France, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mirja’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups