Miry Martins

Porto, Porto, Portugal

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Miry’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, German
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Student
  • Currently doing a Master in Arts at UPorto
  • From State of Minas Gerais, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me




Well, I´m a regular woman, I think. I´m 30 years and I'm studying arts. I live with my husband, which is a really nice and easygoing guy, he is a translator so loves different cultures and to travel too! =)
I usually hang out when it´s not freezing or raining. Just moved to Porto, Portugal, and I´m enjoying this beautiful and incredible city.
I like pets and I have a cat, which is the best cat in the world (seriously).
I like to do all sorts of things and I'm not attached to routine, so what comes, as long as it's buena onda, I'm up for it! I also like to spend a lot of time at home, cooking, drinking, chilling... =)


I enjoy living in peace with everyone, not judging anyone and laughing as much as I can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I participate by offering my couch to other people (when I´m allowed to) or just a drink, believing that we can do a better world to know people and travel safety.
And when I travel, I hope to get all the kindness back!
I believe that every travel is a wonderful experience and we should always make the best of it, no matter the circumstances!


I´ve hosted chileans, swedish, argentinians, australians, french, polish, israelis, germans, russians and spanish! =)
And also in Argentina, Chile and Cuiaba-Brasil I could do some surfing myself!


Art, art, art

Music, Movies, and Books

Best movie ever is Garden State, no doubt of that, but I´m addicted to movies so mostly what comes, I watch.
Music I´m very eclectic but nowadays I have been listening a lot of Brazilian music.
My favorite book is The Shadow of the wind of Carlos Ruiz Záfon, and I know that it sounds tacky but I loooove Stephen King books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Leaving everything behind and coming to Europe.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, when travelling you are always learning, non-stop. So I can say that my hosts and my guests taught me a lot about different cultures, from typical food to languages, also to respect one another and that differences may come, but that is what makes it interesting. Sharing our time with others, in my point of view, is how life can be truly experienced and enjoyed!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you some Portuguese, both BR and PT now, and also English (I used to be an English teacher) and Spanish . Also, I can teach you to cook some typical food from Brazil (feijoada, farofa, feijão tropeiro) and maybe some art stuff such as drawing, painting, collage...
Here in Portugal I can take you to have a Francesinha, a very portuguese dish and also show you all the beautiful things that Porto has to offer.
I can share my home and my culture, my knowledge in arts, brazilian music that is awesome, and some other stuff that we discover along the way.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, France, Italy, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Portugal

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Miry’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups