Logo orange

Rachel Lay

New Bern, NC, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Pedicabber, Odd Jobber
  • Bachelors in Molecular Biology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Sail our tubby home about the continent.

ABOUT ME

For the past 6 years, I've split my time between pedicabbing in Austin, TX and traveling by bike, thumb, and sail with my boyfriend, James. We're currently exploring the Gulf and East Coasts on our floating home, a Westsail 32 sailboat.

PHILOSOPHY

Spend and wage slave as little as possible. Value time over money. Most of the things you need are in the trash somewhere anyways.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've spent most of my time as a CSer living in sheds, tents, and other structures too small to support guests or in places too remote to attract visitors. I've enjoyed the hospitality of others across North America and have enjoyed hosting those souls hardy enough to come stay on our boat.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed all over the US and a bit in Mexico and Canada. Hosted some folks in my last land-based dwelling and a hearty few on our sailboat.

Interests

Sailing, low budget bike touring, hiking, vegan cooking, gardening, fermentation, wild plants, diesel engines, tinkering, dumpster diving, sewing, all varieties of DIY.

Music, Movies & Books

Cartoons! Venture Bro.s and Invader Zim being all time favorites.

Doc Watson, Gillian Welch, The Beatles, Townes Van Zandt, all kinds of soulful, wailing, old timey music. Underground hip hop. Grungey stuff.

Slaughter House Five, Narcissus and Goldmund, Desolation Angels, most everything by Camus

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Sitting alone at the helm of a 25' sailboat on a moonless night 65 miles from land on the way to the Dry Tortugas. Phosphorescence in the water getting mixed up with the stars.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know some stuff about: microbiology, bicycle repairs, knot tying, making bread, sailing, 12V electrical systems.

I'd like to learn more about: sailing and navigation, sewing, speaking Spanish, growing food, foraging for food, woodworking, DC circuit wizardry.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, France, Mexico

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile