Logo orange

Butterfly Rutland

Collins, MS, United States

Accepting Guests

Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Butterfly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 57, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • teacher of intellectually gifted (r...
  • BS Education/ BS Environmental Desig...
  • From Collins, MS USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Volunteering in any capacity-- teaching art, archery, wall climbing & conversational English.

ABOUT ME

Yes, I love my pets! That's a Sun Conure on my shoulder, & two Shelties at my side.
I don't come on here as often as I'd like, so if you are interested in sleeping on my couch, please TEXT ME TO BE CERTAIN I GET YOUR REQUEST. 601.270.1286 or email me at nancyrutland58@gmail.com (text will be more effective as I check them often).http://www.facebook.com/NancyRutlandButterfly on FaceBook if you'd rather message me. I do check these messages often.
I'm an artist and my website is NancyRutlandArts.com if you'd like to view my work. I LOVE to paint and Travel!

I was a Teacher of the intellectually gifted.
I miss my job badly, but "what can you do?" You can get out and DO WHAT YOU LOVE. TRAVEL!"
I'm 52. Most of my travel
has been as a volunteer so I might be able to
afford to travel.
I've done volunteer work with disabled and abled at http://sharevillage.org">http://sharevillage in Northern Ireland mostly in Arts but also taught archery to blind, painting to quadrapeligics, crazy
stuff like that.......taught conversational English to Iberians in Spain http://www.puebloingles.com Now THAT was FUN! I'll be teaching conversational English with http://www.Vaughtown.com in Spain in a few weeks (Feb. 2010). I'll also go back to Italy, Germany, Holland & Austria this trip. (Plus taking a cruise with Viking River Cruises on the Danube for a week!!!)

Love traveling to Europe; esp. Ireland, Italy, Holland.Spain. I do volunteer work there so most of the time I travel alone. Heck I travel alone everywhere. Nobody much is into museums & Irish dancing ya know......Interested in all types of art. I paint murals (my home is replete with them),& also Coats of Arms; reading (history mostly); music---70s & 80s I'd guess-- Enjoy Museums,playing with my sun conure (small parrot),my pair of Shetland Sheepdogs...

PHILOSOPHY

Nancy: Decide WHAT you want & THEN no matter HOW ridiculous or far fetched it may seem THEN decide how to go about getting it. Then DO so!
(ie. I did this in my own life: I wanted to see Europe but don't have the $$ to travel overseas. I shot for it anyway by finding a way to travel. I WORK there for a free place to stay and food. I could never go any other way, but now I see countries others only sit and dream about from their homes. I LIVE it.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd like to be travel the world meeting friends of all cultures & being grateful some took their time to show us their lil area of the world. We'm from South Mississippi & there's not much here, however if you sleep on pit couchrd we'd LOVE to take you to New Orleans the next morning. It's a city like no other. Jazz in the streets, mimes, cajun food, calliope in the background, hurricanes at Pat O'Briens, antique furniture shops, fantastic musicians, people from all cultures travel and live here. It's only an hour and a half away. I have access to my brother's condo during the week sometimes. Let me know exactly when you're coming & we'll see if we can stay in the French Quarter itself!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I began Couchsurfing in March, 2010.

I stayed in MADRID with Roberto. (my friend, Jefferson, also a volunteer was with me)?

Then in AMSTERDAM with Maria.

I've stayed in Munich with Marion & Joerg a few days. Check out their website Bike Tour Germany where you can ride motorbikes with them as tour hides thru the Alps.

Last in MUNICH with Joerg & Marion.

All were wonderful experiences.

(This is what I wrote when I joined Couchsurfing. It was not "couchsurfing" experience per se, but it was tantamount to it.)
--- I just joined tonight, but we have stayed a week with a lady I met online from the Lake District of England. She advertised online for an Interior Designer to stay a week with her helping redo her home for free room & board in this gorgeous area of the UK.------I spent a few nights with people I didn't know in Belfast. They were very gracious & I appreciated it much---Does sleeping under couches of foreign airports when I could find no other port in the storm count as "couchsurfing" No? Heck!
I've been several times to NYC with someone I met online so I guess that "might" count as couchsurfing experience.

Nov 11, 2011 was my first experience as a host. It was MARVELOUS! My guest was very interesting, enthusiastic and even taught me to play the dulcimer!

Interests

Of course as an artist I'm interested in art of all types from visual to street artists such as musicians. Having a degree in Environmental Design heightened my interest in architecture.....Cultures of all descriptions fascinate me

Music, Movies & Books

I'm not much into movies as I prefer books-usually nonfiction, but a few novels. Enjoyed Tis, Memoirs of a Geisha, Angela's Ashes, Illusions, any of Woody Allen's humor, Tales of a Shaman's Apprentice... My music is of course the 70s & 80s Rock. I also like classical & will listen to most any music. I'm not keen on country, I must say. As the token ole lady (just turned 52) on this site I also trek vicariously thru foreign lands alone as well!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Having seen Hurricane Katrina in her glory definitely ranks as one of the most awesome experiences of my life. Although she wreaked havok as I watched, I'd take nothing for having seen it. I'll never stay for another, but few people will ever have the experience of witnessing such an awe inspiring storm.--how the ceiling of the sky hung so very low--how the rain swirled that to me was so reminiscent of Van Gogh's "Stary Night"--how I saw the differences in the wood of trees, some willowy, some firm. These nuances made world of differences as each danced-the Hula, Limbo, still others the Salsa). And Yes, we bet one another from our safe vantage points which tree was going to pop off even with the ground next./ The Alps are awesome seen from above--the hamlets & powdered snow

Teach, Learn, Share

Nancy As a teacher I'm well versed in teaching I've experience in working with volunteer organizations (in order to be able to afford to stay long enough in one country to bask in its culture). Knowing how to travel cheaply is another plus. I love listening to others from other countries.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Butterfly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile