Mitch Kottkamp's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mitch’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Server/Bartender
  • NC State University - English/Film Major
  • From Charlotte, NC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey all! My name is Mitch Kottkamp, I am 23 years old and have lived in North Carolina for my whole life (I currently live in Rock Hill SC which is right across the border from NC). I went to college at NC State and graduated with an English degree, and have recently decided to act on my longtime desire to travel the world by embarking on a cross country road trip across the United States this summer. I have saved up for months working full time at a brewery, and have outfitted my SUV for sleeping purposes. I plan to mostly sleep at campsites along the way, but at a couple different cities I would love to try out Couchsurfing! I have no experience with the website but have heard great things, and can't wait to give it a go!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hope that Couchsurfing enables me to cut down on expenses while I am on the road and allows me to meet new people who can potentially show me around their city! I am a very outgoing person and am always down to try new things

Interests

  • writing
  • photography
  • reading
  • poker
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sports
  • basketball
  • travel
  • outdoors
  • card games
  • vlogging

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Classic rock (Guns N Roses, Metallica, Queens of the Stone Age), Indie Rock (Tame Impala, The Lumineers), Reggae (Soja, Dirty Heads, Tribal Seeds) Rap/hip-hop (Kendrick Lamar, J. Cole) and many more!

Movies - Catch me if you can, Spiderman Into the Spiderverse, Shutter Island

Books - Game of Thrones, Dune

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't know if it qualifies as amazing, but volunteering to coach a 12u basketball team near my home in Rock Hill was an incredibly fun and rewarding experience. I’m sure the parents thought me and my Dad. were pretty weird as none of us even knew any of the kids in the league beforehand and we quickly became very emotionally invested in the success of the time. My Dad coached my youth basketball teams as a kid and it was a really unique experience to participate in games from the sidelines. Working with each individual kid to maximize their strengths and improve on weaknesses and seeing each of them develop day in, day out and get better from game to game was incredible, but even more impactful was connecting with the kids on a personal level and trying to help them grow as people.

Teach, Learn, Share

Out of my passions, guitar playing, my love for card games and in particular poker, and some basketball skills I've picked up over the years are probably the most easily teachable. I consider myself a lifelong learner and am always looking to try new things, but a couple skills I'm particularly interested in cultivating are acting, dancing, and surfboarding. I want to share my mindedness, passion for living, and my beliefs on travel with others. Nothing can beat good conversation, which I very much look forward to sharing with others I meet on here.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am an able bodied 23 year old and am more than willing to help around the house physically or mentally. I fancy myself a solid cook and am more than willing to help on that end, but more than anything I want to share what knowledge and skills I've been able to cultivate over the years and hope to learn just as much in return.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mitch’s full profile.