Alex D Mitow

New York, New York, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Restaurateur
  • University of Miami '10
  • From Palm Harbor, FL
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To explore and decompress.


I'm Alex, I'm 24 and live in New York City. I'm in the restaurant business and currently own a restaurant here in NYC, as well as part of a family restaurant in Florida. I'm not just a food guy (though it is a big part of me). I love traveling and meeting cool people and doing the things other people might not even think to do. I love driving around at night and seeing a different side of the world while everyone else is asleep. I'm a huge nature buff and I'm into anything from plant life to undersea creatures and basically anything you'd find in National Geographic. I'm into all aspects of food and cooking as well as wine and distinct beers. I've traveled various parts of the US, and also Central America, the Caribbean, Eastern and Western Europe, and much of Southeast Asia. Cultures fascinate me, and I love learning languages though I must confess that I'm not as fluent as I could/should be in languages besides English. My conversational Spanish is decent but could be improved, and I understand most French but don't speak it well. That said I'm always open to learn, as well as teach.


Life's too short to waste any time beating around the bush.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have a couch/daybed (or a private room) available for up to 2 surfers, potentially 3-4 if they don't mind using the floor or an air mattress. This would also have to be at a time I wasn't particularly busy and in more of a hangout mode, but 1 or 2 people at a time is almost always cool. Also - I'm open to hosting small gatherings at my restaurant in the Lower East Side for couchsurfers here in NYC or visiting from abroad.


I first used CouchSurfing while travelling Southeast Asia with a close friend. I met many cool people, some of whom I still count as close friends and actually see here in NYC, or keep in touch with over the internet.


Anything outdoors but specifically scuba diving, fishing, and other ocean-related activities. Also cooking (I'm a pretty decent cook, I hear) as well as eating out at restaurants and trying new things. I love life has a constant soundtrack to it that ranges across the board of musical tastes. I'm also into books and movies, I read almost constantly and am into all kinds of movies. Aside from what's listed I'm pretty open to any new experiences or ideas.

Music, Movies, and Books

This is a tough question...too many to name. Would love to chat about this in person :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Caught a 350 pound blue marlin on 30# test fishing line in Costa Rica...3 hour battle, one of the toughest physical and mental challenges of my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I'm a pretty decent cook, and I know quite a bit about the ocean as well as scuba diving and fishing so if anyone wants to learn about those I'm available :). I also have an encyclopedic knowledge of The Beatles, for what it's worth. I've also been told I provide decent conversation in general.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belize, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, France, Greece, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups