Gwen Rivet's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gwen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 34 References 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • I work in advertising/media
  • M.A. in Cognitive Linguistics
  • From Lyon, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


It's never too late to travel, it just takes a lifetime. So better start now!


Hi, I'm Gwen from Lyon, France.

Currently living in Paris and up for meets and language exchanges!

Like many of you, I am an eager world-traveler. I'm very tolerant but if there is one thing I don't understand... it's people who don't like to travel. As they say, 'traveling is the only thing you pay that makes you richer'.

I am a fun, cultured, and generous guy who always enjoys a drink (or more) and a good laugh.

Things you need to know about me:

1) I will always be shy at first, and it takes me some time (not long though) to be a bit more comfortable around people. After that, I am very friendly and quite chatty :)
2) I love languages and I love asking questions about them. Most people like it as well but if you don't, it's fine, but please warn me :)
3) I will never take things for granted. I am mostly a surfer (though I am hoping to host at some point) and I will always make sure that I don't invade your "territory", that is your home. I will be very happy to be involved and if you tell me to make myself at home I will, but I will wait for you to allow me to do so.
4) I love art. So if you share the same interest or if you know some really good exhibitions in your city, I think we are a match :)
5) I love walking. I almost never take the bus or metro when I visit a city unless I am very tired or unless the city is very big.


I believe in sharing. I'm not gonna save all the issues in the world, but I'll just try not to create new ones.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Unfortunately, it is impossible for me to host at the moment. Hopefully I will be able to do so soon. In the meantime, I'm surfing people's couch and I find it amazing. I like the CS community because it is a friendly and considerate one.


1st experience: Mimmo - Roma (10/2011)
2nd experience: Pete - Amsterdam (02/2012)
3rd experience: Carlos M. - Lisboa (03/2012)
4th experience: Carlos L. - Lisboa (03/2012)
5th experience: Erick and Javi - Madrid (03/2012)
6th experience: Samuel - Barcelona (04/2012)
7th experience: Myriam - Annecy (08/2012)
8th experience: Natasha - Ljubljana (10/2012)

2-year hiatus...

9th experience: Michael - Bath (08/2014)
10th experience: Ben - Exeter (09/2014)
11th experience: Alex - Bucharest (10/2014)
12th experience: Martin & Mitko - Sofia (10/2014)
13th experience: Vangelis - Thessaloniki (10/2014)
14th experience: Rain & Andres - Tallinn (04/2015)
15th experience: Lauris - Riga (05/2015)
16th experience: Egle - Vilnius (05/2015)
17th experience: Norbert - Warsaw (05/2015)
18th experience: William - Cardiff (02/2016)
19th experience: Zeljko - Zadar (05/2016)
20th experience: Ivan - Split (05/2016)
21st experience: Stefan - Tivat (05/2016)
22nd experience: Alexandra - Tirana (05/2016)
23rd experience: Romu - Rio (10/2016)
24th experience: Eduardo - Sao Paulo (10/2016)
25th experience: Bruno - Sao Paulo (10/2016)
26th experience: Jorge - Foz do Iguacu (10/2016)
27th experience: Saul - Foz do Iguacu (11/2016)
28th experience: Ramiro - Montevideo (11/2016)
29th experience: Julio - Buenos Aires (11/2016)
30th experience: Andy - Mendoza (12/2016)
31st experience: Roberto - Santiago (1/2017)
32nd experience: Luis - Lima (2/2017)

When is the next one? :)


Languages, American literature, Women's writings, theatre, opera, traveling, English music, musicals... and I always enjoy a laugh!

Music, Movies, and Books

Lots... It would take me too long!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Survived a torrential rain in Rome.
Did a road trip around the UK with my best friends.
Spent the night playing games on a night train from Kharkiv to Sevastopol.
Did a safari in South Africa and was the first ever human being to see a newborn leopard.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to teach French, English and German.
I am fond of languages so I am very happy to learn any languages along with some cultural stuff :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Montenegro, Netherlands, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Gwen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups