Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 30 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Recruiting
  • Bachelors in Psychology and Master's in Organizational Be...
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a passionate person who enjoys adventures, stimulating conversation and spending time with other adventurous and thoughtful people.

My personal philosophy is that life is a work of art that each of us creates. My goal is to create things that I find beautiful.

A few weeks ago I joined one of my connections on a road trip to the Bay Area (from Canada) and have fallen in love with the area. I proceeded to start job searching and have gotten an offer for a job there. I will be in Canada from Jan - Feb 10, then Santa Monica until April 15th before settling into a job in the Bay area as a tech recruiter. I am really looking forward to gaining a deep understanding of the companies in the bay area and helping to bring the right people together to create harmonious organizations.

My career has been built on a desire to understand people and how they connect to one another, the world and the things that we construct within it.

I completed my masters last year at Queen's School of Business in Organizational Behaviour and then found a job in a non-profit working as a Planning Coordinator at a feminist organization with flexible hours. I was involved in Marketing, PR, Fund Devleopment, Grant Applications, Fundraisers and pretty much all aspects of the business.

I am also exploring ideas for more alternative ways to use my knowledge of people, organizations and interaction to help bring more joy and harmony to those within my communities and the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I enjoy meeting local and international people at couch surfing events as well as through surfing or hosting. I am always looking for new people to have adventures with!

I've couchsurfed in Whales, Ireland, Italy, Greece and Poland, and created some unforgettable memories! I could not imagine travelling without it now!

Interests

My favorite activities are:
- Windsurfing
- Contact dancing
- Blues dancing
- Ecstatic dance
- Swing Dancing
- Camping
- Caving
- Boldering
- Hiking
- Swimming
- Waterpolo
- Canoeing
- Scuba Diving
- Cross-country skiing
- Skating
- Sailing
- Kayaking
- Snorkeling
- Winter Camping
- Urban exploring
- Downhill skiing
- Slacklining

My interests are:
- Playing the accordion (though it is back in Canada right now)
- Traveling
- Food
- Culture
- Theater
- Musicals
- Cooking and Baking
- Learning
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Philosophy

I would love to one day:
- Do more outdoor climbing
- Go handgliding
- Learn to surf (I just went to Pacifica last week and it was amazing!)
- Go white water kayaking
- Spend a year sailing around the world
- Bike across more countries
- Snorkel and scuba dive in Egypt
- Go on many road trips
- Hike an active volcano
- Sleep in a cave
- Explore some caves while scuba diving
- Go on a multi-day climbing trip
- Learn to cook a meal from every country in the world

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
My favorite genres are indie folk, post rock, jazz/swing, electronic and instrumental music.
Favorite Indie Folk: Beirut
Favorite Post Rock: Explosions in the sky
Favorite Instrumental: Detektivebyron
Favorite Electronic: shpongle

Movies:
I'm a bit picky about movies. The ones I like most are either foreign, psychology based, indie or musicals.
Some of my favorite films are A home at the End of the World, I heart Huckabees, Lars and the Real Girl, As Good as it Gets, Fight Club, Punch, Ammelie, Wall-E, The Artist, the breakfast club, K-pax, The Intouchables, Anger Management, Juno, Princess Bride, Breakfast at Tiffanies, V for Vendetta and Romantics Anonymous.

Books:
Some of my favorite novels are On the Road, Kafka on the Shore, The Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and Cat's Cradle. I also love to read about psychology, sociology and philosophy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

While backpacking for the first time in Europe, I decided that I'd like to learn to sail. So a few days later I signed up for a week in the south of France with a non-profit organization called "Les Glenans". There I learned to sail a Catameran while living with French locals and internationals doing the same. When we weren't out on the water we would cook, clean our accommodations and explore local towns together. I learned a great deal about French culture, cooked many different French dishes and enjoyed time on the water. I enjoyed the experience so much that I cancelled the rest of my travel plans and spent a second week learning to sail there.

Teach, Learn, Share

Things I can teach:
- Swing/Contact/Blues dancing
- English / French
- Canadian and French Canadian culture
- Interesting psychology facts
- Life philosophy
- Life coaching and how to create plans to attain your goals
- Self-discovery techniques
- Cheap traveling tips

I want to learn:
- about different cultures
- to cook/bake cultural foods
- technical skills (more about camping, climbing, dancing, ect).
- Nature in different areas
- People's life philosophies
- More about sociology, politics, science and existence

I would like to share:
- Adventures!
- Cultural experiences and knowledge
- Recipes and food

What I Can Share with Hosts

- Expenses
- Chores
- Food and recipes
- Stories
- Great memories

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups