Matt Purvis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I work as a counselor at an elementary school; I work mai...
  • I graduated 2013 from Florida State University from my ho...
  • From Tallahassee, Florida, USA. Born and raised; here all my life
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make experiences around the world

ABOUT ME

Well it's kind of hard to describe myself. I love sports, music and animals, just relaxing.

I'd say I'm a pretty laid back guy and I will usually end up liking whoever I meet.

Up until I began college, I had only done travelling with my family to a few places in the US (New Orleans, Atlanta, Orlando, DC). However, it was when I started studying French in high school that I started taking an interest in the world outside of the United States.

I finally was able to save up the money and study for a month in Paris after my third year of university. It was the best experience I have ever had! Since then I have made it my mission to see as much of the world as I can in my life. I also went to study in London in summer 2013 and then took a trip to New York City for the first time around New Year's 2013-14, which was maybe the best city I have ever been to.

In addition to travelling, I enjoy reading, playing sports (I play football/soccer about every weekend), going out with friends, hanging out with my animals (2 dogs and a cat).

I don't eat meat and try to stay away from dairy as well, but am not as strict about that. I hope that wouldn't be a problem for anybody.

PHILOSOPHY

Take it easy

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As of now (July 2015) I only have one CS experience: two weeks in Mexico City. It was an awesome time, and I really enjoyed the time I spent with my host. Without CS, I know I wouldn't have had the same experiences in Mexico City that I would have, had I gone around by myself or gone with a tour group.

In September I will be living in Rennes, France for about 7 months and would like to try hosting, as well as travelling around Europe, when my schedule and wallet permit.

Interests

Sports, football (soccer) in particular, music (mostly rock), animals, I LOVE dogs and cats, especially big dogs, if you have a dog I will want to take it on a walk, parties, history, philosophy, religion, I can play board games all night long (I am especially fond of RISK and Scattegories among other games), I also like learning different languages (have taken French, Spanish and German, would love to add more to that list)

I really just like being around nice friendly people and going out and getting to know them, having a good time.

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • walking
  • partying
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • soccer
  • history
  • languages
  • religion
  • parks
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Films- Pan's Labyrinth, American Beauty, Inglorious Basterds, Y Tu Mamá También, Lord of the Rings, Beerfest, Eurotrip, Old School, School of Rock, Boondock Saints

Books- Love the Harry Potter series (I want to read it in French eventually), football books, The Hobbit, Animal Farm, Counte of Monte Cristo

Music- lots of rock- Queens of the Stone Age, Soundgarden, Chevelle, Pearl Jam, Pink Floyd, Carbon Based Lifeforms

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Off the top of my head:

When I studied in the UK, summer 2013, we had spent most of the trip in London, in the city and hadn't had much time in nature, except for when we would go visit the parks.

Then one weekend, the program from my university took a bus up to Wales, to a town called Llandudno and it was nestled in these hills off the coast. It was the absolute best part of the trip. The scene was so beautiful, we spent the whole day walking around and looking at everything. I would love to go back someday.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Mexico, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!