Meri Perez's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Meri’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning German
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Physician
  • University of Cordoba
  • From Córdoba, Andalusia, Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Maria Jose, but abroad everyone call me Meri. I live Cordoba (Spain).

I'm member of IFMSA-Spain. In my free time (I don't have much) I like going out with friends and enjoy the sun at a terrace eating tapas, but I also like staying at home and play board games (Jenga, Jungle Speed, Alhambra, Pandemia, etc). I love learning new things, as languages!. I've been meeting Erasmus people in my city since the year before I started university and I've done 2 erasmus, therefore I'm super used to international environment and I love it!

I love travelling, but I usually only travel in summer, when I have holidays. I like going out, but I usually don't stay till really late... (some of my friends party will 6a.m. every single weekend, I'm not into that anymore). I don't smoke and I usually don't drink alcohol.

I'm open-mind, realistic, responsible, hard working, funny and serious (it depends on the moment). I like languages, in fact, I speak Spanish, English, Italian, French, and I'm learning German.

In 2011 I worked as a volunteer in Switzerland. I really liked that experience and I've gone back every summer, 2015 was my fifth summer. I did my second erasmus in Switzerland as well. I'm in live with this country!.

I was active in the Programme Youth in Action of the European Union. In 2010, I did an exchange in Poland. In 2011 I organized some free workshops in Cordoba. August 2012 I attended a Training course in Kassel (Germany) about environment, sustainable, agriculture, fair trade and alternative movements. March 2014 I took part of the European project "Raise Youth Voice" in Brussels. I'd like to participate in other trainings, I continue looking at projects but whether there are no interesting for me or they are in dates when I'm not available :(.

Some of my friends think that I'm crazy because of using this platform, they don't know what they're missing!

PHILOSOPHY
Shared economy is the future.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like CS, It's nice to meet people in a completely unknown city for me and do some city seeing, chill out and go party.

I host anytime I have the opportunity, I hope to receive the same hospitality, but so far it has been very hard to find a host.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

2017
- I traveled with 2 friends to Marrakech and were hosted there. It was such a nice stay, we really liked our host.

2016
- I traveled with 2 friends to Sweden and were hosted in Gothenburg for 2 nights.
- I hosted in Copenhagen one girl from Switzerland and another from USA
- I Showed Cordoba to a Finish-Dutch couple
- I traveled with 2 friends to Czech republic and were hosted in Brno. Such a nice experience!
- I met a local from Bucharest when I visited the city.
She came another weekend to my city to visit it.

2015
- I attended a CS barbecue in Amsterdam
- I was hosted in Amsterdam. Bad experience

2014
I've showed my city to 2 CSfers: from France and from Kuala Lumpur.

2013
I met several CSfers in Athens
I was hosted in Rome. First experience as guest and it was super nice!.
I met two Csfers in Innsbruck, we went to the beach.

When I have free time I hang out with surfers and I show them Cordoba ;)

I've met people from CS in Innsbruck, Athens, Bucharest, Cordoba, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, they were all very nice :).

If you're thinking about writing me a message, please keep in mind this: I want to meet people of AROUND MY AGE. I get angry when people who write me are 50 years old men. I'm NOT INTERESTED IN DATES AND/OR PHYSICAL CONTACT (you know what I mean). If you have read my whole profile and you're thinking about writing me a PM start the message with "Hakuna Matata".

Interests

Travelling - In the sense of getting to know different cultures, languages and points of view. I also like city seeing but only the most important places (I'm not the person who visit ALL churches and museums that there're in the city). I like doing free walking tours.

Languages - I love meeting people from other countries and practising other languages!! I can teach you some Spanish if you want.

Music - Nearly all kind of music except classic, electronic and hard metal. Some of the bands I listen to are: Fito y Fitipaldis, Soha, Amir, Enrique Iglesias, Luis Fonsi, Eva Simons, Lidia Buble, Bruno Mars, Taylor Swift, The Kooks, Vetusta Morla, Sia, Shakira, ...

Sport (volley, gym, swimming, zumba).
Board games (Jenga, Jungle Speed, Pandemic, Risk, Alhambra...)
Do handicrafts

  • cooking
  • board games
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • languages
  • medicine
  • nature
  • terrace
  • rinding bikes

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - I love action and comedy films, as In time, Hangover and American Movie.

Music - Nearly all kinds, specially the music you can listen to in the radio or the disco. I usually don't remember the artist or the title of the song.

Books - I don't read as much as I'd like to 'cause I've many things to study at university... but I like thrillers.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled more than 5000 km by car during my erasmus. I've slept in many several airports. I bought a flight for 1€.

In summer 2012 I was volunteer in Schwarzsee (Switzerland). To go to the working place I had to go up a very steep stair of 144 steps and I was carrying a baggage of 22 kg, a hand baggage of 10 kg and a school-bag... Imagine my face

I lost my suitcase in Genève in summer 2012!!

I travelled by bus during 13h from Bremen (Germany) to Warsaw (Poland) to visit one of my bestfriends ^^

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - Spanish, English, Italian, French and some easy recipes

Learn - German, new recipes, new ways of sustainable living.

Share - All experiences and histories!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Sleeping place, towels, sheets, tea. Probably traditional food cooked by my mother.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Denmark, Greece, Romania, Spain, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Meri’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups