Logo orange

Molly Saylor

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Molly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Arabic (North Levantine), French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Life cycle analyst
  • Political Science, International Dev...
  • From Wheat Ridge
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Grow more than a handful of tiny vegetables from my garden

ABOUT ME

After a few years of relative inactivity, it is time to get back into the couch surfing world- both as a surfer and (hopefully soon) host. I spent the last six (or so) years studying International Development and Social and Human Ecology in Vienna. Before I came to Vienna I spent some wonderful time in Palestine teaching English and working with youth. It seems like a lot of history to just skip over but come surf with me or let me surf with you and we can get into the details!

Now I find myself once again at a bit of a crossroads. My boyfriend Flo and I are both finished with our studies and hope to move to Sweden or Denmark or somewhere similarly Scandinavian. Or maybe that plan won't work at all and we will end up somewhere entirely different. Stay tuned!

In general terms, I like baking bread, canning things (like pickles), cooking, fermenting things (like sauerkraut), and being activisty. I used to have more hobbies like yoga, running, traveling, and DIY stuff. Then I spent a year (or more) writing my masters thesis and those things seem like a distant memory... but now that I am finished writing I can finally dust off my banjo, running shoes, and passport and get going!

I am pretty outgoing and easy going. Not much of a party person anymore so if you are looking for a drinking buddy, probably not the right fit. Otherwise I like to think of myself as a pretty open minded, funny (although this is pretty subjective) and interesting person.

PHILOSOPHY

Another good quote from my younger self:

"Screw the North American "bubble" lifestyle!"

An updated personal philosophy:

A good cup of coffee can fix a lot of things

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used to love hosting people in my little apartment in Nablus and I couch surfed all over the place. Then came the dark ages (i.e. masters degree period) and I was too overwhelmed to do much hosting. Now that I have more time and am more flexible I am hoping to get back on the couch surfing wagon!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

One thing hasn't changed from my early-20s CS profile so I will quote my young(er) self:
"I have hosted and been hosted by some of planet earth's most amazing people. There hasn't been one time where I haven't learned something new about the world. Couch surfing makes my soul very happy. Everything from learning Jack Johnson on the guitar to existential physics in global revolutions. Amazing."

Interests

Yoga, riding my bike, mountain biking, writing, reading, baking, knitting, Palestine, coffee, politics, the environment/sustainability, composting, gardening

Music, Movies & Books

My current taste in music could be described as whatever hipsters liked six months ago. I discover it, love it for a week and then feel sort of meh about it. This week I am in to Old Crow Medicine Show and Shovels and Rope.

In terms of movies, I enjoy the Sean of the Dead trilogy. I am also a big Star Trek fan. I probably don't need to say more after having outed myself as a Trekkie.

I don't remember when I read a book that wasn't for university. Another thing I am now free to do!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have seen so many things. The best of all is humanity. It isn't always pretty but it is always amazing and often inspiring.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can probably teach you how to cook, can, or bake something.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, New Zealand, Palestine

Join Couchsurfing to see Molly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile