Monte Clifford's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Monte’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 74, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired Now - Bureaucrat - but good. One time Social Work...
  • B.S., and also educated by kids, grandkids, ex'es, experi...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live in the present, enjoying each moment as it is.

ABOUT ME

Me? I'm nice and fun of course. I live in the now, and love it. Walk Skippy to the park almost every day, just to hear the play, read a book, feel the sunset and maybe call my kids for a visit.

PHILOSOPHY

I live my life in the now, loving, and knowing nothing and everything and questioning it all, doubting especially faith. I am an apostate and proud of it. a recovering vegetarian.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I learned of CS at an adult education (Learning Exchange) class on Solo Travel on a Shoestring. I got my first passport in 2006, and traveled to France, St. Thomas, Cabo, and I love to travel.
I "retired" (HA!) April 2011, and want to travel more and more, and be able to afford to. I also am available to host and share Northern California with new friends.
In May/June 2011 I combined CS with wwoof and traveled to Italy for a month. Met wonderful people who love and share their lives. In Dec 2011 and Jan 2012 I again traveled to Italy, farm sitting in Tuscany near Caldana and then being a tourist with my girlfriend in Rome and Naples. I LOVE Italy and have been 7 times since, to WWOOF or farm-sit.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted Many wonderful people. Meeting good Hosts now that I am retired and traveling.

Interests

*Books (Steven King, Dean Koontz, Eckert Tolle, Travel, more); Movies (Falling Down, Search for the Holy Grail, Classic, "Foreign", Art House, Muriel's Wedding, Priscilla - Queen of the Desert, more); Bicycle rides where I can look around and enjoy sights; Motorcycles; Fast Cars (Track Day at Thunder Hill); Walks; the BEACH and Warm water; Sunset, sunrise, noon and midnight; Garage Sales and Thrift stores; Farmer's Market (it's my church); Improv; Roller Derby

Music, Movies, and Books

Music that I play on the guitar, singing old stuff. And playing the accordion to the dismay of the neighbors as I walk down the street. Watch out if you come to visit. I received an amp for Christmas.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Couchsurfing and WWOOFing Italy for a month, THAT is amazing. wwoof.it, check it out.
CSed in Marina di Pisa with a wonderful (now) friend.
WWOOFed in Tuscany, contributing to sustainable farming.
CSed in Rome and walked and walked with a new friend I met.
Traveling is AWESOME!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach macrame hemp jewlery making, Or how to scare away proselytizers.
Homemade soap. I putter around a lot, creating or repairing.
Traditional Rug Hooking is an art I learned from my late wife, and I continue hosting her students weekly.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Monte’s full profile.

My Groups