Joni Kirk's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joni’s full profile.

Overview

  • 25 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning Chinese, French, German
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student - Psychophysiology.
  • I'm a graduate
  • From Ferntree Gully, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Ho vissuto 3 anni in Italia e parlo bene l'italiano.

CURRENT MISSION

To establish a world wide network of friends!

ABOUT ME

I'm an Australian girl who hasn't called Australia home for some time. After 3 years in Italy (studying colour science and design) and traveling around Europe I left behind the continent for a life at sea.

I spent 3 years living on boats, first as a chef and later as a deckhand. I came home for 2020 and after the first lockdown I moved to Queensland to continue my career and dream...

I love fitness, food, travel, sailing and languages!

Also love hiking, yoga, and electronic music!

**This is not a dating website. I am looking for friends only. **

PHILOSOPHY

Ride the spiral to the end we might just go where no one's been.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting: I love hosting and I make a pretty good tour guide. Unfortunately it's impossible these days since the boat I live on isn't mine.

Surfing: If I stay with you I can give you a reiki session or a tarot reading. If that isn't your thing then I can always bring wine, bake a cake, or some amazing Caribbean or Italian dish!

Sometimes I organise small CS events.

When I'm in Melbourne I am especially interested in meeting up with/ welcoming travellers and can give a good low down on it as I have lived here all my life.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I used to host people in Melbourne, Australia. I attended Couchsurfing gatherings and met travellers for coffee or drinks. When I began hosting Couchsurfing didn't require you to leave a reference, so I've hosted more than my profile lists..

Then, I moved to Italy (6 years ago) and I started hosting people in Milan, and then in Verona. I didn't start surfing until after coming to Italy. It's been... interesting! I've had good and bad experiences, but nothing will stop me!

Here is a great article about how to have a good Couchsurfing experience http://www.angloitalianfollowus.com/why-couchsurfing-is-free-is-a-myth.

If you are one of those people who talk about themselves 90% of the time I will probably find you pretty boring. I like silence as well as conversation, and conversation goes two ways.

Interests

Yoga
Meditation
Hiking
Juggling
Fire spinning
Electronic music
Festivals
Science
Shamanism
Reiki
Drumming
Tarot
Languages
Burning Man
Rainbow Serpent
Rainbows

  • books
  • design
  • festivals
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • music
  • electronic music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • teaching
  • languages
  • science
  • tarot
  • fire spinning
  • fire

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite writer ever is Oscar Wilde.

Hunter S. Thompson. Italo Calvino and Alessandro Baricco. Pedro Lemebel. Oliver Sacks. Marquis de Sade. Ray Bradbury. Lovecraft. Haruki Murakami. I just finished Patrick Ruthfuss's the name of the wind and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I've read De Profundis, and some Harley Quinn fan fiction. I'm reading Anna Karenina right now.

Favourite TV shows are Rick and Morty and Orange is the New Black, The Big Bang Theory, Black Mirror, but I rarely watch TV. Generally, I like cartoons.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The single most awe inspiring moment of my life was the 2012 total solar eclipse in Cairns, Australia. I was with about 50 of my friends and thousands of others. It was a deeply moving, healing and unforgettable experience.

I also crossed the Atlantic ocean three times. The first time was mindblowing. I actually never went back to the land after that.

Teach, Learn, Share

Let's juggle!

I am a healer and love sharing this with people, I especially like doing swaps with other healers. I have oracle cards and lots of esoteric books to share.

I'm an English teacher so I am up for language swaps.

I know all the best places for pizza and icecream in Verona, and I know some of the history too.

I can talk till the cows come home about social justice (with a willing participant).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer you a reiki session, a tarot reading, or just some nice company!

I'm a professional cook on a luxury yacht and my repertoire is wide. We can share recipes and techniques!

I'm a language teacher and I can offer you an English lesson at any level, or I can teach basic Italian.

I can teach you to juggle with three balls and also show you how to make your own juggling balls.

I can move heavy things, clean stuff or even do your laundry :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominica, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, India, Kiribati, Malaysia, Martinique, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, British

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Italy, Martinique

Join Couchsurfing to see Joni’s full profile.

My Groups