Monika Suska's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Monika’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 20 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • children's book illustrator
  • Master degree in history of art
  • From Warsaw
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

My best friends probably would say that I work too much but that's because I love my job - I'm children books illustrator. Maybe that I'm a bit undecided and torn between my two beloved city Warsaw,Poland and Barcelona,Spain. Maybe a little bit too talkative sometimes but fun to spend time with. For sure they would mentioned that I'm married to hilarious and super handsome guy(truth!) and I'm terrific cook (also truth) and hopefully that I'm a good,reliable friend as we stick together for many years.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to be best person I can, not harm anybody and be simple nice to others. Nobody's perfect but trying is keyword.

I'm not involved in any religion.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Within last 4 month (I joined CS in September 2012) i hosted several travelers and it was amazing experience. I lerned many new things and spent wonderful time during some sightseeing, meals and drinks with those extraordinary people. (You can see from reference my guests left me this good impression is shared :)

and now I'm going to explore this second side of CS during my Asian trip as a surfer visiting other. I just can't wait:) and hope to be as good guest as mine were.

Interests

My biggest passion is illustration (which happened to be my job, you can look at my work at monikasuska.pl) specially love kawai and vintage or vintage stylized art.
I'm fan of Jamaican music(ska, early reggae, mento,)collecting original vinyl records form 60ts AND 70ts and always looking for opportunity to see some performance of legendary Jamaican musicians. I not very found of main stream modern music and will not be good companion if want to party this way but I'll be pleased to take you to i.e punk rock, rock'n'roll or mod concert/party.
Other than that I always enjoy good food, nice wine and I'm a Star Trek fan.

  • arts
  • books
  • performing arts
  • illustrations
  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • baking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • shopping
  • knitting
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • animation
  • freelancing
  • religion
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies(and tv series): Star Trek, Dr Who, Bareja's movies, Family Guy, American Dad, Big Bang Theory,

Music: ska, early reggae, rocksteady, mento, punk rock

Books: love books! I can read nearly anything just for reading pleasure. I'm fan of Neal Gaiman(also love his graphick novels)and Haruki Murakami. But I'm not a collector - I use library.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being 19 I got married - it was spontaneous decision, not reasonable at all but we just had 9th anniversary so hey! that was luck, wasn't?
Nearly 2 years ago my husband took decision to close down his shop in Warsaw and become freelancer like me, so we started to be location independent. That's awesome!

Teach, Learn, Share

I was teaching kids how to draw and paint for several years so if anyone want to :) can give some tips.
also I'm quite crafty girl, I can knit, sew,needle felting, play with clay.
I love cooking and baking, I can show how to prepare some of my top meals and also love to try some recipients from my guests.

Well, I want to learn so many things but how to make time for this?? on top of the list is learning Japaneese and Klingon's language(yes language from Star Trek without any use - that's me:)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Monika’s full profile. It’s free!