Monique van der waal

Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Monique’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish, Thai
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Travel hostess
  • Graduated in July 2011 for primary/elementary teaching Gr...
  • From Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


In India!


Hi I'm Monique van der Waal,

Ever since I went to Michigan, USA for a High school year in 2006, I got infected with the traveling bug! I love to travel and want to see as many places on earth as possible, so I really hope other CouchSurfers can help me accomplish that!
I'm friendly, social, eager to learn about other cultures, adventurous and out there!
I live on my own in an apartment, 3rd floor, really close to the center of Rotterdam.


Seize the day =)

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift, that's why it's called the 'present'

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I would love to host others at my place, now that I've been a guest at people's homes as well. I've donated a gift to CS so they know I'm willing to build this community =)


In 2004 we started hosting Bosnian children (2 at a time) at home, who would stay for about 3 weeks to have a holiday abroad. We did this for 6 years and we loved it! Every year we met new Bosnian kids between the age of 8 and 12. It was amazing.

Whoever knows Taizé, knows that they always need hostfamilies that will host a few people to stay at their house overnight for three days. During the day they keep themselves occupied with church activities and at night they use your 2 square meter to sleep. This year we had 3 Polish guys over. They were great too!

During highschool in Holland, I've been in an exchange program where I stayed in Poland with a girl and she stayed at my place after that. Really cool too!


Traveling *dohh*, meeting new people, hang out with friends, reading, watching my favourite soap series like House/Dexter/New Girl/Cougar town, going to the beach, riding my bike, shopping, etc.

Music, Movies, and Books

- The Cat Empire
- Rudimentals
- Pete Murray
- Jack Johnson
- Rihanna
- Brennan Heart
- etc!

- The smokejumpers (Nicholas Evans)
- Sultana (Jean Sasson)
- My sister's keeper (Jodi Picoult)
- all books by Dan Brown

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being on the Whitsundays islands was such an amazing experience. The beach is as white as snow, the water as blue as a clear blue was fantastic!

Jungle surfing through the jungle in Northern Thailand. The nature is beautiful there!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you around, have lunch/dinner/drinks out somewhere and hopefully make your stay fun!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Poland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Monique’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups