Marianne -'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marianne’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in Dutch; learning English, German, Polish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • PhD Student (Archaeologist, GIS-Analyst)
  • Goldsmithing, Archaeology, GIS - and Geodata specialist
  • From Renkum, Gelderland, Netherlands
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
I want to do something constructive and positive in the world, and always try to bring a (positive) change or doing something serviceable. I see that in all kinds of work that I did:)Now I might embark on a research adventure.
I also hope to visit Iceland this year with my boyfriend.

ABOUT ME

Contrary to what the pic may suggest, I'm not a party girl:) I'm a fairly quiet person with a jovial mind, although with people of similar disposition you can expect laughter and banter, but I'm what they call an 'introvert';)

I'm a person with a lot of interests, I love to learn and like to try things out. I'm currently trying to learn a bit of Python programming. I've done a couple of studies/training and occupations, but I feel that this all culminates in archaeology and this is the field I would love to keep working in. I love materials, and (want to )specialize in material analysis, especially those related to metallurgy. I volunteer with doing creative things with kids in refugee centers (integrationslötse), and hope to continue this with the Maltesers in the Kiel region.

I love being in nature.
I'm a Dutch national living in Germany (NRW).
In a few days I will know whether I'm really hired as a PhD Student in Kiel, but it's a very last minute confirmation (I should start on the 16th?!). Of course I am excited, it is my dream to do research and the topic is really exciting.
I also like to get to know new people in Kiel and I love discovering the local gems and quirks.

I will also be actively looking for an appartment to settle in Kiel. A couch would help me as I'm starting with little financial reserves, on the other hand - my head is also full with a new job - and perhaps it's better to meet for coffee or something first.

If you want to offer me a couch, I can contribute with tea, cooking, stories and help with cleaning up;) I would love it if you show me your favourite places in Kiel.I won't treat your hospitality as a free hotel, I only write to people where I think I would have a connection with.

PHILOSOPHY
Every person has a story and every person has unique qualities. I love learning from diverse perspectives.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I have limited hosting ability at the moment, but I do my best to accommodate(if you're really in trouble, write me). Right now my house is a bit of a battlefield of stuff and boxes (I've started packing and sorting things, feeling positive that I can start as a PhD Student in Kiel:)).

I can however provide you with information if you want to visit this region (or need an emergency couch) and perhaps we can still drink a cup of coffee in a café or something:)If you want someone to join you in your trip to my area, I'm willing to show you around.I do travel by foot, cycle or public transport though:) But the last one is excellent here;)
I have one cute cat that is scared of people (but still very adorable).

Maybe I would like to travel if I have more time and finances;)Something for the future. My first wish is to go to Japan, I have been wanting to for ages:) But every time something comes up, and it doesn't happen. I am planning to do that within 2 years though:).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

On this site, I have met up for a drink etc, but I haven't stayed over yet. But I have slept on couches before;)Also I have offered couches to people in need, sometimes even long-term (a few months). Two people in differing time periods, and both have become friends;). Currently I'm hosting a friend who is between between places.

I haven't been that active on this site for a few years, so that explains the long-term membership with few references. However, just because I didn't log on here, doesn't mean I don't have a similar sharing mentality. :) I hope I can host when I have moved to a new appartment in Kiel.

Interests

Arts, music, reading, mythology,languages,goldsmithing, Mokume Gane and other dark patinated copper alloys, history, philosophy, archaeology, nature, oh and I love good food:) My favourite kitchens are Japanese, African or Eastern-Mediterranean...I am also tea addicted, and I think on average I have about 30 sorts to choose from (it used to be worse);) Proper leaf tea of course;) Or I can fix you a homemade chai.;)

  • cats
  • arts
  • architecture
  • dining
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • clothing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • cycling
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I like mostly fantasy, SF, Arthouse, dramatic and Asian movies...I love noir movies. Movies like Citizin Kane, Delicatessen, The Gods must be crazy, Amelié, 3 iron(Bin Jip), Baraka etc.
Books....I like books about memories, books that make you think, humorous books and books about imperfect characters.

I've a really broad music taste, but I'm less likely to whistle to the latest poptune(*unless it's really, really catchy;)). I have an ecclectic taste, from classical to 20s Blues and Jazz (I have a gramophone at home;)), 60-70s psychedelic music, 80s New Wave and goth, Prog rock, Post Rock, Shoegaze, World Music, Troubadour/songwriter etc. Just to name a few of my favourites: Tim Buckley, Wovenhand, Zoe Keating, Irezumi/Manuel-M, Sieben, Dead Can Dance, Irfan etc. The list is too extensive:)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

excavate in the Caribbean, swimming with seaturtles, being tickled by sea-urchins and staring at a baracuda, and try to solve a poo-mystery on a small island that seemed to be only inhabited by 1 cow and 2 goats (and a few people).

Failed to avoid the cliché for archaeologists...walking rope bridges, wading through water-filled tunnels, exploring caves with archaeological treasures, pieced a human being together and tried to solve mysteries.

Sitting on a cliff in Northern-Norway looking out over the sea, I watched the midnight sun at 1 a.m. sink to it's pivotal point of equilibrium (the point between sinking and rising again) where it emitted a pink glow . It was so beautiful. Actually, I think I can find that pic somewhere for you (in photo's;))

Teach, Learn, Share

I learned that forgiving is the best way to keep the past behind you. I am much more optimistic and positive about living then I was before. I also believe, that in this way, life is more flowing...negativity leads to nothing, and worrying about everything is being an enemy in your own mind.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, good food, lot's of tea and hopefully some laughter too.
I do enjoy deeper conversations. I can probably show you the coolest parts of Bochum:)

Countries I’ve Visited

Barbados, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Marianne’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups