Mehpare (Moon) Atay's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mehpare (Moon)’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning French
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Having Fun with Particle Accelerators
  • Graduate Student in Oxford Physics
  • From Samsun, Samsun, Türkiye
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Keep on exploring!

ABOUT ME

I'm fascinated about deepen my understanding of the universe. For that purpose, I coordinately focus on 3 tools in my life; physics, economics, and traveling. Although my life objectives sometimes push me to make ideal plans about future, I never stick to them. I only try to maximize my instant happiness given that my previous life satisfaction and future expectations. What makes me cope up with routines of life is experiencing the high level of adrenaline in the sky and under the water, on the land. I love all kind of animals except scorpions. I'm a cat person. I greatly appreciate gourmet food.

PHILOSOPHY

"Life is too short for a bad coffee."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting wherever possible, surfing, cultural exchange and making the company

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first true Couchsurfing experience was in June 2012. Thanks to my host, I didn't need to put an extra effort for making friends on my way as it's usually the case in solo trips. I've figured CS is a great tool to get the local flavor when the host is willing to help. I'd like to provide the same hospitality to the folks surfing on my couch.

Interests

I'm passionate about flying, scuba diving and powerlifting. I'm actively involved in animal rights activism. I'm a keen concert and festival goer. I like to sing Turkish Classical and Turkish folkloric music. I enjoy the swing and salsa dancing. Travelling is a must-have part of my life. I prefer backpacking and train journeys, mainly focusing on experiencing various cultures, learning about different traditions and tasting local food. I'm also very much into photography, and I love it as a tool to catch the moment. I am an international powerlifter; therefore, hitting the gym multiple times a week is a must-have part of my routine.

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • culture
  • singing
  • photography
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • running
  • flying
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • paragliding
  • economics
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

Though I like many different kinds of music, the late 60s', early 70s' psychedelic rock& blues is the music of my soul. Different periods in Jazz&blues pleases me greatly as well. I love the cello and my favorite cellist is Jacqueline Du Pre. I find my own roots in Turkish Classical Music and Turkish Folkloric Music. I like psychological thrillers especially in French Cinema and science fiction as well. My favorite superheroes Spiderman and Batman. I like adventure, science fiction, and detective books and beat literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I fell from 120m while paragliding in 2008 but miraculously survived with only a broken ankle.

I've rescued many kittens from the streets and found their forever homes.

I’ve solo travelled more than a couple of dozens of countries and hundreds of cities in 4 continents.

I’m a CMAS 2-star scuba diver with over 50 dives, including in the Great Barrier Reef and the Red Sea.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach anything Turkish, from language to culture and of course delicious Turkish recipes.

I like cooking international food and learning new recipes as well.

I enjoy yoga with people and share some Iyengar yoga tips.

I get along with animals very well, so I can happily take care of your pets.

I have a working knowledge of physics, you can greatly benefit from it as you wish.

I can teach you to lift weights.

What I Can Share with Hosts

All the above, plus I'd be so grateful and host you at my best ability whenever you wish to visit the places I live and give you great travel advice from many countries that I have been.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mehpare (Moon)’s full profile.

My Groups