Javier Moreno's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Javier’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 18 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Spanish; learning French
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student (Again)
  • B.A. Political Science B.A. Spanish, M.A. International S...
  • From Anaheim, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

keep up the adventure and spontaneity

ABOUT ME

I was born and raised in Anaheim, California. While being neighbor to the happiest place on earth, Disneyland, I needed out stat at the opportunity of college at UC Santa Barbara. I did 4 years of work hard, play hard, contributing (if even the slightest bit) to the reputation of the UCSB Gauchos. Of course I studied abroad in Spain! Upon completion of my B.A. I moved to NYC , D.C., and Philly and then started a M.A., which put me in Guadalajara, Mexico and London, England. Being abroad for the entirety of the M.A. program I got the opportunity to see a few additional places along the way, especially when working for an international educational charity.

After the abroad stint for my graduate work, I moved back to Santa Barbara and worked at the crossroads of emergency management and philanthropy for a more disaster resilient Santa Barbara County, with a public-private partnership called Aware & Prepare.

Now, I have made a career shift into nursing. Ive just completed an accelerated masters of science in nursing in Orange, CA and upon completion and licensure, I got a job as a nurse in Los Angeles.

In my spare time, I like to go hiking, do yoga, run races (5k, 10k, halfs), host dinner parties, hang out in the parks and play board games...

I live with my partner Mike, who is also a CSer: https://www.couchsurfing.org/people/mikeyscott13/

PHILOSOPHY

do what is right (from my perspective), try anything once twice if I like it, cherish friends and family, love. Lgbt friendly

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can host soometimes. Just ask. Probablly shorter term folks, for 1-2 nights... but ask and you shall receive. When I travel, I like to surf as it is also a great way to meet folks and learn a bit!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

almost had my first one in Japan, but got stuck on the train and missed my opportunity... We were hosted by a lovely couple at their union square apartment for a weekend and got some quality time with their tabby!

Interests

hike, bike, micro brews, wine, cooking, eating, photography, music, people watching, board games, being silly, passing time with friends and family.

  • photography
  • philanthropy
  • cooking
  • wine
  • yoga
  • running
  • partying
  • board games
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • nursing
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

watch: comedy, theatre, modern dance, international filmsListen: indie, folk, pop, classical mexican music, mariachi, oldies, ethnic tunes. Eat: food, all kinds- local foods.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ecstatic breathing... breathtaking!

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach spanish, share cooking and learn anything you wanna teach me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, France, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Javier’s full profile. It’s free!