Gail Grycel's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gail’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 42 References 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 61, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Woodworker , Musician, Teacher, Writer
  • College educated for classical music,
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm interested in connecting with others who are creatively traveling, internally or externally.

ABOUT ME

Trained in classical music, I've spent most of my working time as a cabinetmaker and teacher of woodworking classes for women and girls. I've recently finished a straw bale house that I've built myself over the last 22 yrs. Once pretty much done, I traveled for a year (9/14-9/15) around the US without car, fully geared for backpacking and carrying two pairs of dancing shoes. And then again, July 2016-August 2017 with a vehicle around the US. In 2010, I spent a month in New Zealand and realized how little time there is in life, and felt that I need to make the space and time to live as fully as I can. Here in Vermont, my house is on 10 acres of land which includes a wetland, gardens and woods. I also dance: contradancing, swing, cajun/zydeco, Argentine tango,Latin,and Balkan. While traveling, I started to explore writing through an on line travel memoir blog, some poetry, and now working on a book manuscript revised from my blog posts from the first year on the road.

PHILOSOPHY

I have an interest in living as fully as I can and helping others to do the same. I try to tread lightly on this planet, walk with integrity, and open my heart as often as I can. I eat organic foods, growing my own as I can, as well as make the hard decisions each day to grow this planet rather than destroy it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would like to participate by a greater connection with my global community...which means sharing: space, ideas, time, food, etc.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted quite a bit since my time of joining the CS community and have met some wonderful folks from around the world, as well as made some lasting friendships. While traveling for a year, I continued to meet incredible and generous people who opened their homes and lives to me, and I carry many new friends in my heart from my time on the road.

Interests

Music, dance, woodworking, gardening, backpacking/hiking, nature, reading, writing, Zhineng Gi Gong, friendship, organic food, alternative building and living.

  • writing
  • dancing
  • tango
  • dining
  • organic food
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • woodworking
  • music
  • classical music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Not sure where to start....changes all the time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Building my house has been amazing...from the literal blood, sweat and tears to being able to invite my community of friends to share in the process with me. New Zealand's amazing scenery was another.... And then there was my year on the road around the US...mostly by bus.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be happy to teach or share what I know and do....from some woodworking to music to dance to building a straw bale house, Gi Gong.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My skills as a cabinetmaker, dancer, musician. And as for all of us, we share our unique personalities through interaction and conversation. And through this sharing, we grow in all kinds of ways.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Virgin Islands, British

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gail’s full profile. It’s free!