Jeremy Berg


Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 16 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Italian, Japanese, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Translator, Editor, Baseball Coach/Player, Teacher, World...
  • Master's Degree +
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To live happily and stay healthy!


I'm an avid cyclist, but I also love baseball, triathlons, traveling, hiking, learning foreign languages, and living in foreign countries. I'm really easy going and pretty liberal, having grown up in San Francisco.


I lean toward the carpe diem philosophy, but I'm not very philosophical about it. I like to laugh and make people laugh. I like to talk a lot. :-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've hosted several times and also surfed couches several times.


I've surfed couches in Japan, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Oregon, and Malaysia. Great times! I've also hosted several times, in Japan and China, including a bike rider from Holland one night, and various couples for 1-3 nights.


Baseball, Hiking, Traveling, Biking, Swimming, Photography, Triathlons, Marathons

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not much of a book reader. I prefer to read newspapers and magazines. I listen to all sorts of music. I prefer lesser-known international movies to Hollywood films. Here are some of my favorites: Seven Samurai, Great Escape, Star Wars, Pulp Fiction, Amelie.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked from Hanover, Germany to Paris, France and back. Played baseball in Holland, Germany, England, Austria, Switzerland, and Japan. Climbed lots of mountains, including Fuji. Biked around most of Taiwan. Biked from Vancouver to Tijuana (in just two weeks). Biked all of Japan, from north to south, in 13 days.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you German!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My experiences traveling, living, and working in several foreign countries.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, China, Germany, Israel, Japan, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!