Khar Ma's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Khar’s full profile.

Overview

  • 50 references 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese, Spanish; learning English, Japanese, Spanish
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Farmer/Gardener
  • Masters in Linguistics. I love to communicate.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I live with my partner Koshi and our cat Leo.

We like all things nature based. In the Spring, Summer, and Fall we often go camping. In the winter we snowshoe. I grow flowers, food, and forage for various seasonal things.

We like to explore Kanazawa and the surrounding areas. We go to restaurants more than we should! Occasionally we go to bars, but we prefer to drink at home. Koshi is well versed in nihon-shu ("sake").

While Koshi and Leo are on the quiet side, I am very outgoing. Both of us are good-humored and love to laugh.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I come from a family of travelers. Before it was called couch surfing, people were sleeping on my couch. I have also slept in a lot of kind strangers' homes.

I was raised understanding the benefits of sharing experiences. To have a guest or be a guest in a strangers' home is a very intimate experience. Couchsurfing is a great way to meet new people and learn new ways.

Interests

Music, art, dance.
Hiking and biking.
Farming, gardening, wild food foraging, mushrooms, flowers, ikebana, cooking.
Dining out, beer, and bars.
Talking and laughing.

  • dining
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • flowers
  • traveling
  • music
  • art
  • dance

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I love almost all music. I support community radio. I am always finding great new music as well as old goodies. I like music with a positive, love-based message.

Movies: I don't watch too many movies nor TV. If I do, it is usually some counter-culture art film or documentary.

Books: I read books of fiction in place of watching TV. I also read biographies usually about rock & roll stars. I'm starting to get into history.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I worked full time as a migratory beekeeper for over 10 years.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to share thoughts about living/life. I want to learn better ways of being. I want to teach anything I might know.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer engaging conversations and laughs over food and drinks (time permitting).
Of course, like any good house guest, I will bring a small gift to show my appreciation for you letting me stay.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Khar’s full profile.

My Groups