Emma Jones

Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Italian, Polish, Russian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • studying for a law conversion course
  • Biochemistry degree from Oxford University
  • From Arles, France
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Learn, explore, discover and travel as much as possible!


I sparkle with excitement and energy at the thought of all there is to see, do, experience and taste in the world. I love languages, travelling, literature, history, cinema, tasting different foods and "creative partying" - partying which is full of exciting discussions, fun non-pretentious dancing and welcoming to all present, NOT binge-drinking in the queue of a sweaty club in order to forget that the music is mashed to an unrecognisable blare. I love meeting new people and debating issues like politics and making the world a better place.


Not sure so far, but trying lots of different things in order not to miss anthing - the next person you meet/food you try/country you visit/language you learn/subject you study might be the best as yet!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


To my embarassment, I've been hosted by lovely people all around the world, but I haven't yet got round to hosting properly - only a few times...


I've met so many amaising people while courchsurfing, one person lent me her bike for 6 months after knowing me for one hour, another let me stay 2 days alone in his flat after knowing me for 5 minutes. Some people picked me up from random places in the middle of the night. Basically couchsurfing has restored my faith in the human race, and I use it not just to travel but even to meet people in my neighborhood. I see it as a filter, retaining only the kindest, most open and interesting people - simply fantastic! Wherever I might end up on the planet, I am not alone :)


Too many to list!!!

visited 25 states (11.1%)Create your own visited map of The World or another interesting project

Music, Movies, and Books

I love non-blockbuster films that allow one to travel from one's armchair into different places, cultures and the human mind. Films in the original language are a special treat :)
I try to read as many books as possible, in particular "literary classics" to discover what they have that has made them so special.
I don't listen to music that often, but that doesn't mean I don't like it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sleeping outside high up in the Pyrenees and seeing the sky like never before.
Surviving an Oxford degree - it nearly killed me!
I regularly "dream-walk" - act out my dreams while sleeping, thinking I am in the dream but doing the action for real. I once climbed out of a first floor window as I dreamt that I was doing it. Never heard of anyone else doing that!

Teach, Learn, Share

- Languages: French and English native speaker.
- Biochemistry (genetics, metabolism, lab techniques) to university degree level. I could share notes, reading lists, and learning materials.
- applying to Oxford and Cambridge university: advice on how to apply and prepare for selection process.
- applying for law firm training contracts (for law training in the UK).
- want to learn Italian and Polish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Brazil, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, India, Italy, Malaysia, Nepal, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Emma’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups