Maggie Parker's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maggie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Irish, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Youth Counselor, Grad Student
  • BA in History and Religion
  • From Walla Walla, Wa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Delay growing up as long as possible.

ABOUT ME

I hold a Bachelor's degree from Florida International University majoring in History and Religious studies. My focus in history is Modern Europe, specifically Britain and Ireland. I have now moved to Seattle, Wa where I'm working the night shift at a shelter for homeless teens and I'm in grad school studying theology (and a touch of Psychology). Since I'm working nights I won't be hosting surfers because I don't think it would be fair to my roommate to have people over

I know a little bit of a variety of languages but I'm only fluent in my native language. I'm probably closer to being conversational in Spanish but it's still pretty rough.

I just moved back to Washington State after having lived in Miami, Fl for about 3 years. I love this state, though I am pretty new to the Seattle area, having only visited on vacation when I was younger. I'm excited to be back here and be able to explore the area.

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe Diem, treat others how you hope to be treated... you know all that jazz.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am free to show people around the city when I'm not working, in class or sleeping (which does happen to be most of my time right now). Because I work the night shift I sleep during the day so my schedule is weird but we might be able to work something out.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted several couch surfers with my roommates and met some while traveling hostels, it's always been a lot of fun getting to know new people!

Interests

I love Irish culture it's a strange obsession of mine. I love alternative rock, traditional Irish music, classical... all sorts of things.

Stories, nature, coffee, wine, beer, swimming, running, cycling, camping, reading, writing, and meeting new people with new thoughts and philosophies.

  • culture
  • writing
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • knitting
  • music
  • jazz
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • camping
  • swimming
  • divinity
  • history
  • languages
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies:Reign Over Me, The Five People You Meet In Heaven, Butterfly (La Lengua de Las Mariposas), Intermission, The Ordinary Radicals. All sorts of movies, particularly indie films.

Music:Matt Duke, and Morrison Boomer (they busk at Pike Place Market in Seattle, and are amazing)

Books:Mirrors of Destruction, The Magic Lantern, Between the Bridge and the River, any Charles Dickens

I love reading... A wide variety of things, mostly history, classics, and historical fiction.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I moved across the country on whim and am working on moving out of the country on yet another whim.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can kinda knit and crochet and can teach the very basics but would like to learn more. I can teach basic European history, and how to write a research paper. I can make bead jewelry and can teach that. Right now I'm in grad school studying theology and I work at a home for girls who've been involved in trafficking.

I'd like to learn Irish and to play the guitar.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Ireland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Maggie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups