Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 27 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • English teacher
  • University
  • From Cradley Heath, West Midlands, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Figuring out the meaning of Yom in Genesis 1

ABOUT ME

I'm an English teacher and a student of Spanish, living in Madrid.

PHILOSOPHY

Memento Mori

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surf, I attend, I advise, I help, I spread the word.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've recently been an international exchange student at the University of British Columbia, in Vancouver. Whilst there I made a number of friends through the Vancouver group and helped to establish a UBC CS sub-group. I took a three week road trip in the States and was hosted by a number of awesome folks in various places. Now that I'm back in the UK I'm looking forward to being an active member in my local groups.

Interests

Reading, music, running, food (cooking and eating it) movies, travelling, watching cricket (can't play it to save my life) hiking, science, religion and philosophy, learning Spanish in particular and, in general, learning more about just about everything.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • news
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • cricket
  • teaching
  • religion
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Recently read Everyman by Philip Roth, Overthrow by Stephen Kinzer, Zodiac by Robert Graysmith, Ludmila's Broke English by DBC Pierre, and more books and articles on research into homosexuality than I care to think of (see below).
Slowly started listening to classical music, I sing in a very non-discriminating Philharmonic choir at my university.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

England win a Test Match against Australia, in Australia! It does not happen often.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an average but super enthusiastic cook. You might learn something from me about cooking but it'll probably be the other way round. I'm always up for meeting anyone who can teach me how to cook a new dish.
I'm always interested in learning more about wherever I travel so if you don't mind being asked a lot of questions we should get on! In return I'm happy to discuss/give advice on anything regarding travel to, studying or just living in the UK.
I wrote a dissertation entitled 'The Neurobiological basis of Homosexuality' for my degree. This is a subject that continues to fascinate me. If you have absolutely anything to share on this topic:- opinion, news article, research, personal story I want to hear about it. Likewise, if you're interested, I'd be happy to share with you what I've learned.

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups