Ben Story's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

Overview

  • 72 references 62 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Bislama, English
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Father, Connector, Navigator
  • Fine arts degree, world travel, 40 years of life experience
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Grow and engage others in growth.

ABOUT ME

I have a passion for growth. My heart is to see others know who they are and living in the fullness of their potential.

I spent a number of years teaching in primary/elementary school, did some traveling and served for 7 years overseas with an international NGO in the areas of training, and community and leadership development.

My wife Anna and I relocated from the UK and are now living in Fort Collins, CO. Since the beginning of 2012 I have been exploring how best to engage in and serve our local community. This has included a service year with AmeriCorps and work with various nonprofits.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Always open to connecting with and serving other fellow journeyers. We like to host and participate in local CS meetups too.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I slept on many floors, couches, and a few hammocks, and cooked many a meal for new friends prior to joining Couchsurfing proper. Now that we have kids we have found it to be great way to expose them to other cultures and ways of seeing the world. We have surfed a few times but aren't getting to travel quite as much as we'd like in this season of life.

Interests

I love cooking and spending time with friends over a good meal. I spend a lot of time with my kids and enjoy the flexibility to pursue my passions and empower others to pursue their's through thoughtful and engaged conversation. When I am not working or spending time with family I like to volunteer with local organizations committed to building thriving community.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Standing on the rim of a Volcano.
Holding my new born son in my arms.

Teach, Learn, Share

Listening to hopes and dreams.
Asking thoughtful questions.
Good scratch made meals.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation. I'm always happy to cook too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Cook Islands, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Guatemala, Hungary, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Caledonia, Northern Ireland, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

My Groups