Logo orange

Marloes's Groups

Marloes Robijn

Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marloes's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Swedish; learning German, Icelandic
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Teacher / Self-employed
  • General Linguistics & Scandinavian l...
  • From Burgwerd, Province of Friesland, the Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm travelling right now, so I can't host anyone.

CURRENT MISSION

I can't choose between sleeping or being awake.

ABOUT ME

The thing I wrote about sleeping isn't really true in "Current Mission". Sometimes I do skip sleeping, because it's so wonderful to spend the night doing other things, like writing, reading, listening to music, taking a walk somewhere in nature, dancing...

And that's actually all about me, the things I do at night are the things I love best.
During the day, I love the same things, plus: traveling, exploring a new city, walking in the snow (whenever it's possible, unfortunately not often in Holland!), (ice)skating, eating Swedish cinnamoncake (kanelbullar!), trying to bake those 'kanelbullar', writing stories and poetry, reading and thinking about children's literature, eating vegetables and fruits, petting cats and wandering around or taking night busses and listening to music wondering about everything and watching other people live their life.

PHILOSOPHY

Med båda fötterna på jorden kommer man inte långt (Loesje)

-> With your feet on the ground (down-to-earth) you won't reach far...Don't forget to dream! Though being awake at night is great too! So don't forget daydreaming!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm looking for a place to sleep in places where I travel and I'd love to meet new people from different countries and cultures. Right now I'm travelling, so I can't host anyone. As soon as I have found a place to live again, you're welcome to use my couch!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I Couchsurfed in Sweden, Germany, Iceland and Ireland; those were all great experiences!
I had some people surfing my couch in my hometown Groningen, which were just positive experiences as well.

Interests

In random order:

Nature, literature, singing, walking, poetry, music, reading, children's books, Sweden, languages, writing, cities, children, skating, my cat Lappis

Music, Movies & Books

Favourite book: Jag saknar dig, jag saknar dig! by Peter Pohl (Swedish children's/teenagers books author, English title: I miss you, I miss you). Wonderful book with one of the best combinations of words and thoughts I've read. There are so many books, it's actually horrible because I want to read a great many of them, but I'll never finish reading I guess.
Other books I love: books by Astrid Lindgren (the Lionheart Brothers! Ronja the Robber's daughter!), Joke van Leeuwen (dutch author/illustrator), Per Nilsson (another great Swedish writer of books for young adults), Jonas Hassen Khemiri.

Music: (psychedelic) folk and folk-rock and psychedelic rock from the sixties/seventies, Timesbold, Bob Dylan, Grace Slick and the Great Society / Jefferson Airplane, Fairport Convention, The Doors, Small Faces, dEUS (great rockband from Belgium), Radiohead, Bettie Serveert, Swedish music (Laleh, Emil Jensen, The Tiny, Säkert), Moddi, Icelandic music (Sóley, Seabear, For A Minor Reflection, Árstíðir), postrock, singer-songwriter-things, folk, classical music.

Favourite movies I can think of right now: Spirited Away, Into the Wild, Lola Rennt, Easy Rider, Swedish (children's) movies, Jesus Christ Superstar, Farväl Falkenberg, Jalla! Jalla!, Hukkle (Hungarian movie in which there is no talking, just other (nature)noises, but a lot of things are happening).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Living in Sweden as a exchange-student and meeting wonderful people!

visited 28 states (12.4%)Create your own visited map of The World or website vertaling duits?

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Dutch or Swedish and I like to sing in harmony with other people. I'm learning Icelandic, so I'd love to practice!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Marloes's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile