Mitchell Adams

New Braunfels, Texas, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mitchell’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Organic Vegetable Pusher
  • Undergrad at University of Texas, have learned more outsi...
  • From New Braunfels, Texas, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to make some positive changes and learn how to live


I am a very easy going person who enjoys company. My hobbies include random things such as swimming, cycling, hiking, camping, knife throwing, attending costume/themed parties and dancing.

I graduated from the University of Texas in 2009 and taught Pre-K gym for about 300 kids while waiting to receive my assignment in the Peace Corps. I served for 2 years in the off-the-beaten path pueblo of Gualleturo which is located in the province of Cañar. I assisted the Subcentro de Salud in spreading health education and really doing anything and everything.

In Quito I work with the municipal gov't in a program of organic, urban participatory gardening and also help out the Peace Corps staff and volunteers.

I may have a quiet demeanor at first, but do not fear. I become very talkative once a connection is made and especially once the spirits are flowing.

Mitch AdamsCreate Your Badge


Do unto others, also a big believer in Karma

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been hosting whenever I can and I try to make it to some of the events. I need to start surfing more...


Probably the best thing that I have ever participated in. I have made many friends and have learned invaluable information from others. When I was traveling alone in Europe it was a great way to make friends and see the local culture. I also used it a couple of times in New Orleans, one of my favorite cities on the planet.


I am interested in food (either trying new restaurants or cooking), learning, traveling, different cultures, swimming, cycling, dancing, music, literature, scuba diving and speedos

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Gogol Bordello, David Bowie, Ghostland Observatory, Spoon, Ray Charles, Muddy Waters, 90's rock, 80's electronic especially Depeche Mode, the outlaw country movement, the Raconteurs, so much more. Music moves me in so many ways that the list could go on forever. I am still discovering bands. Right now I am into salsa, merengue, and música tropical.

Movies: My favorite movie of all time is the Big Lebowski. I am becoming a fan of independent films and I also enjoy comedies, spaghetti westerns, most of Tim Burton, war movies, the list goes on...

Books: I read mostly about history, historical fiction and am currently fascinated by the works of Haruki Murakami. My favorite author/journalist thus far is Robert Fisk. His book "The Great War for Civilisation" really changed my perspectives on the United States and other Western countries and their involvement with the world (especially the Middle East). I highly recommend this book to read, but beware it is lengthy.
During times when I cannot stop reading I switch between very serious books to light-hearted comedies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have cycled 189 miles with a friend from Austin to Port Aransas in the middle of the Texas summer (my first ride over 60 miles) and survived!

Climbing Mt. Fuji was also pretty cool...

Bull herding in the Cayambe highlands.

Swimming in the Ecuadorian jungle

Teach, Learn, Share

Well now. When I am in Austin I can give some throwing knife lessons. . .can teach you how to better your swim stroke. . . how to change and repair a bike flat. . .

In Ecuador I can teach you a little about gardening, the local cultures, and the hot spots to visit.

What I would like to learn is anything and everything really. New ways to think, to cook, to experience this thing we call life!

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    15 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mitchell’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups