MSCHEK's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see MSCHEK’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 73, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • Something creative -- paint, sew, design scarves, do phot...
  • Teacher -- now retired
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn as much as I can while God has given me the health and ability to go and experience.

ABOUT ME
If you are not verified in any way please don't request a 'couch'.

I'm able to reach out when I need someone which is an excellent ability to have when one travels alone. My priority is living and not accumulating things although as I look around my place I can see I've accumulated quite a bit :-).
Seems there are many passions in this body and caring/learning/being with other people in Canada and other countries makes my life very exciting and worthy. This morning while playing 'dress-up' :-) I put a scarf from my family in the Sahara Desert around me, tied by another scarf cut up from Turkey, trying to mimic a design on a mural in Sofia, Bulgaria at the cathedral. Yah, I laughed a lot. It's harder than it looks! :-)
I've been incredibly blessed to have had so many amazing experiences and look forward to the time I have left to create a few more memories.

PHILOSOPHY

You have to lean on God and go after what you desire in your heart ( what God's put in your heart to desire).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I tell young and older :-) about this group!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Sometimes I find living in people's houses can be quite high tension. One can be on call any hour of the day/night. A wonderful experience but one gets more alone time in a cheap hotel or hostel. Also one feels heavy pressure to eat/drink when you've had enough. Many times I've declined cookies where the family has spent their limited money and perhaps got a child to run a few kilometers for that. I don't want/need any more cookies/pop. These experiences happened in Pakistan and it's one of my top countries to go to.

Interests

I'm always dreaming of new things to 'put together'. I wear clothes from any country I've been to and like to mix and match them. Sewing makes any material/clothing only limited by my imagination. I think I'm 'pretty' other people think I'm 'pretty different' :-) Ok, a little different but they accept/put up with/admire me for it!!! :-)
I take pictures, awesome pictures. :-)
I dance every week.
God is very important to me.
I love life and meeting people.

  • design
  • photography
  • dancing
  • running
  • walking
  • drinking
  • crafts
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • leatherworking
  • live music
  • fishing
  • philosophy
  • solo travel
  • nature
  • cultures
  • creativity
  • biking
  • relaxation
  • christianity
  • photoshop
  • visiting
  • jewelry
  • visiting new places
  • woodwork
  • christian music
  • sewing clothes
  • gardening,
  • bible study
  • learning about people
  • being alone in nature
  • early mornings,

Music, Movies, and Books

Music --- I'm dancing ...
books --- where to go to next ....
Movies --- don't have time to see them, anyway, my life is the best movie ever! :-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 1984 I had the opportunity to go with a local who was 65 and grew up in the pyramids of Chichen Itza. He took me inside the Pyramid of a Thousand Columns. I went below ground level to see the authentic stone colored statues. Now when I return even the archeologists working there do not know about the statues. I'll never go without some camera again; like i did that day.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn about whatever i can. Life is so interesting and a steady adventure!
Thanks be to God!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I try not to be in the way or disrupt the flow of the home.
I could fix something and help where it's needed.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Egypt, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Czech Republic, Ireland, Mexico, Morocco, Pakistan, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see MSCHEK’s full profile.

My Groups