Logo orange

Micah Sewell

Missoula, MT, United States

Accepting Guests

47% response rate · Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Micah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 76 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning French, Marshallese, Norwegian, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Ecology Projector
  • there was some talking and writing i...
  • From Mason, Michigan, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Ride more.

ABOUT ME

I'm an easygoing guy with a lot of hobbies - guitar and banjo, growing food, hiking, riding bikes, daydreaming, enjoying the outdoors. I came to Missoula for grad school and decided to stay, because I love everything about this town. In the summers I work as a bike guide in the U.S. and Europe, but host when I'm at home in Missoula.

I've bike toured through Norway and stayed with some fantastic hosts through CS; I'm ready to start repaying the favor by hosting again.

Places I used to live: On an organic farm on an island in Washington, where I earned a stake in a future child through my potluck-hosting

At the UM FLAT - a 6-year-old project to promote sustainable living on campus and in the greater Missoula community. The FLAT works hard to build up their own intentional community, renovate the house and garage to be more efficient, healthier, and nicer to live in, grow and preserve their own food, and any other projects that come up along the way. Stop on by and check out what they're doing.

PHILOSOPHY

Walk lightly on the earth and enjoy every minute

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By opening up my house to anyone traveling through, meeting new people when i'm traveling myself, and visiting the group pages to see if i can learn or share anything

Summer of '09 I toured Norway, Sweden, and Denmark on a CS-inspired project to visit sustainable communities and spread their ideas - take a look: One Step Beyond

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Spent one fantastic night in Ireland, hiked in Canada with Alex during his CS road trip, opened up parties at my house to CSers, joined the Everett CS group a few times, traveled all summer with six other couchsurfers, used CS to travel by bike through Norway for the whole summer, and have hosted a couple dozen surfers here in Missoula - all first-rate experiences.

Interests

Outdoorsy stuff - hiking, biking, camping, kayaking, slacklining, gardening + farming; traveling, ceramics, making, listening to, and recording music, writing, doodling

Music, Movies & Books

Favorite music: Andrew Bird, Beatles, Sigur Ros, Adam Arcuragi, Chris Bathgate, Head and the Heart, John Butler, Xavier Rudd, Red Tail Ring, Mumford and Sons, Johnny Flynn, Abigail Washburn, Phox

Movies - if it has subtitles i will probably love it. Some randoms - Elling, Happenstance, Hawaii Oslo, Time Bandits, V for Vendetta, Fuel, Good Food, To Make a Farm

Books - I'll gladly carry an extra 8 pounds in my pack so i can have good reading material. I know i like Yann Martel, Umberto Eco, Arthur Conan Doyle, Michael Pollan, Barbara Kingsolver, Raymond Feist, Sandra Mackey, Herodotus, and loads of other stuff - I will probably like whatever you're reading too.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I saw a baby gray whale be born off the coast of California - its mother had to hold it up to the surface of the water until it learned how to use its flippers.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning new musical instruments, i can teach you what i know on the guitar/banjo; if you bring a banjo into the house, you can stay forever*! I'm learning a lot about organic farming, always willing to share knowledge and/or vegetables. And i love pottery - handbuilding or wheelwork, i can't teach you too much but would love to make something together. Getting into brewing beers and wines, too - i may ask you to be a test subject, but no complaints on that front so far.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

France, Italy, Marshall Islands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Micah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile