Michał Szutenberg's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michał’s full profile.

Overview

  • 43 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning Chinese, Russian
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • AI Software Engineer
  • MSc Embedded Systems
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In August 2019 I finished my double degree studies in Embedded Systems at KTH (Stockholm) and TU/e (Eindhoven). Some people in Stockholm knows me as an outdoor enthusiast - I organized some weekend hiking event in the Stockholm area. After moving to the Netherlands I continued my outdoor activities - mostly with bicycle trips and hiking (check that out: The Netherlands Adventurers Meetup group). In December 2019 I moved back to Gdańsk. I feel like a newcomer - it's a vibrant city and many things have changed since I moved abroad. Let's explore Gdańsk and the whole Tricity together!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In summer 2014 I had my summer internship in northern Finland. I had taken my bicycle from Poland and was cycling through Lappland in my free time. Here I started my adventure with CS, traveling and exploring the world.

Couchsurfing has helped me to become open to other people, understand that strangers are usually very friendly and open (my parents, grown in quite tough times, in northern Poland were trying to teach me "never trust strangers").

I have never had any bad experience with host and guest (except for using paid CS in Shiraz which was quite crappy). I don't treat CS as free Bed and Breakfast service - I hope that my guests too.

Please do not send me spam requests. To make sure that you care enough about who you send your request to, I'd like you to include good day written in the Finnish language at the beginning of your request. More experienced hosts and surfers will understand.

Interests

I'm interested in Electronics, IT and related domains. I like listening old, good music (60s, 70s, 80s) but not only. I love music from different parts of the world:
- Russia: ддт, отава ё, Игорь Растеряев,
- Moldova: Zdob si Zdub
- Poland: Czesław Niemen, Marek Grechuta
- China: Beyond, Zhao Lei, G.E.M
- UK: Queen, The Beatles
- Finland: Popeda
- Iran: Kourosh Yaghmaei
- Romania: manele ;p

I'm a member of student tourist club GDAKK. I love sleeping in the wilderness (visit Sweden - it's legal there!), hiking and long distance cycling (if there's enough time).

  • chinese food
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • mountains
  • biking
  • china
  • iran
  • mountain hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Life is my favourite book. Sometimes I think that it's written in really strange language which cannot be understood by anyone.

Thanks to my Indian friends I started watching Bollywood movies. The best: Dangal, Swades, Three Idiots.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I stopped taking care of what others think about my "crazy" plans for traveling. It helped me to have alone bicycle trip to Lapland (about 1000 km). It was an amazing experience and good motivation for planning new trips :)

Since that time I had another bicycle trips, the longest was 1400 km. My dream is to have a bicycle trip around the world.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with planning hiking and cycling trips as I did it many times and it's a pleasure to spread my knowledge to others. I can also share many useful tips about hiking, camping, cycling... I can provide you my tips how to save money when traveling abroad, how to navigate (which apps to use and how to prepare them), hitchhike and so on.

I can teach you some Polish words (please don't ask for bad words).

What I Can Share with Hosts

My cuisine. Thanks to living in a multicultural environment I've also learned how to cook some Chinese and Indian dishes so it's a mix of Polish, Swedish, Dutch, Chinese, Indian.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belarus, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, Germany, Hong Kong, Iran, Italy, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Michał’s full profile.